Issues with FIOS modem/router's wireless and multiple devices connected to the WLAN?
datanetri

I am an IT consultant who was assisting someone with getting some devices connected to the fios wireless router and adding a wireless print server so they could print wirelesly. 

I was having difficulty with one of their systems that was connected prior to me going on site.

It was having difficulty obtaining an IP from the WLAN, i tried reinstalling the adapter, removing stored wlan settings and setting it up again, etc.

When it did obtain an IP it could not ping the router.

I had left it suggesting that they replace the wireless adapter on that system.

However they're saying that after they shut down one of their other devices that i had connected (a netbook), that this problematic system started working fine.

It makes no sense that a wireless client would have an impact on another wireless client. We're only talking 4 total devices here, a netbook, a laptop, a wireless print server and a desktop in another area of the house that has a usb wireless adapter.

Does anyone have any ideas on if Verizon's wireless built in to the fios modem/router just isn't too good to handle multiple wireless devices?

After hearing this i was thinking they might have been better off configuring the fios router as a bridge and getting a better wireless router or shutting off the fios supplied wifi and implementing a wireless access point instead of using the router/modem that verizon provides.

0 Likes
Re: Issues with FIOS modem/router's wireless and multiple devices connected to the WLAN?
lasagna
Community Leader
Community Leader