Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

MI424WR-GEN3I (Firmware)

Reply
In_Domine
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-29-2013

MI424WR-GEN3I (Firmware)

Message 1 of 9
(31,070 Views)

To start off, I am a heavy online gamer for xbox and the most recent firmware for the "Gen3, rev I" router, 40.20.1, is causing massive problems that I was able to temporarily fix. The problem is that I no longer have access to the old 40.19.36 firmware and I can only upgrade and restore back to 40.20.1, which irks me immensely. Internet speeds are not a problem, but playing online games is absolutely unbearable. I do not feel like I'm lagging but I constantly feel as if I die incredibly quick, people never die in general, and the killcams often show me sprinting around like a moronic idiot. The old firmware, 40.19.36, fixed these issues completely and it made gaming much more entertaining and fun.

 

Firmware Version: 40.20.1

Model Name: MI424WR-GEN3

Hardware Version: I

-Subscribed to the 75/35 FiOS service

-Wired cable

-IGMP Proxy disabled - http://192.168.1.1/index.cgi?active_page=6059

-UPnP enabled - http://192.168.1.1/index.cgi?active_page=900

 

I have tried to change the MTU, beacon interval, RTS and fragmentation thresholds, b/g/n modes, DNS servers, static IPs, disabling 'IP address distribution' and even changing from WPA2 to WPA and even to WEP. None of this seems to work at all on this firmware. But it all did on the older versions.

 

This link shows current firmware versions of ActionTec routers as of May 24th, 2013:

http://support.actiontec.com/doc_files/Current_Firmware_Versions.pdf

 

However, Verizon does not even offer my router for firmware upgrades:

http://my.verizon.com/micro/fiosrouters/

 

And ActionTec provides the firmware 40.20.1 in the upgrade section, but I can see that they have a 40.20.2 GPL.

http://opensource.actiontec.com/mi424wri.html

 

 

 

I honestly hate to come off that I dislike the service I am provided with, and I would be much happier if I could downgrade back to 40.19.36 and I'd be even more happier if I could downgrade all the way back to 40.19.22, this is the third Gen-3 router I have received and none come with any firmware but 40.20.1 and the "newest firmware" is always pushed at around 12:15am EST. If anyone could help me, it would be greatly appreciated, all I am in search of is a link to the firmware download for 40.19.36 or a configuration file with the firmware saved to it, or maybe even if Verizon could update their firmware page to display the Gen-3 router.

 

All help is greatly appreciated and many thanks to those that do try to point me in the right direction!

8 REPLIES 8
click4dylan
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎01-28-2011

Re: MI424WR-GEN3I (Firmware)

Message 2 of 9
(30,984 Views)

Sorry to say but your router firmware has nothing to do with your game performance. That's entirely dependent on the server and your ping

In_Domine
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎05-29-2013

Re: MI424WR-GEN3I (Firmware)

Message 3 of 9
(30,943 Views)

Not to sound disrespectful in any way, but I have clearly outlined that it is, in fact, the router's firmware. ActionTec, nor Verizon can even accurately confirm which firmware I am supposed to be using. On the phone, Verizon IT either a, responds by telling me to contact ActionTec or b, telling me that ActionTec is planning on releasing a new firmware in a couple of months. 

 

Servers are completely irrelevant in this situation, most xbox games use p2p hosting, and when you pull host just about every game, it's hard to say 'these servers suck'. But besides that, back when I had the older firmwares on my router, performance was impeccable and flawless, I never had a ping above 100 unless it was across the country or overseas. On top of that, any idiot who can choose a dedicated server would not be selecting one with any form of high ping.

 

There are  only two solutions to my problem is disabling the router's internal firewall in the ethernet/coax option and I will not be doing that, so that requires me to have the old firmware. Besides, if it was not the router's firmware, do you honestly think I would do a firmware restore every day back to it's old firmware until it is no longer available anywhere? Again, I mean no disrespect, but I do not think you completely understood my question.

scottydog
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎01-12-2013

Re: MI424WR-GEN3I (Firmware)

Message 4 of 9
(30,699 Views)

I was on the phone with Vz Fios today and there is a Firmware Update. Verizon uses TR_069 technology to perform the update and they said most of the changes are to the user interface performance. Likely, the firmware description within the gateway will be similar to the existing format only a higher number. I was told this update will take place 7-4-13 at midnight to 2 AM but didn't state what time zone that is referenced to. Likely eastern time so those in CA will see it update and reboot around 11 PM.

 

I have the same gateway/firmware/rev1 and have no issues with any media including FHD on Netflix etc. See my next post for Xbox concerns.

scottydog
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎01-12-2013

Re: MI424WR-GEN3I (Firmware)

Message 5 of 9
(30,692 Views)

This comes from Actiontec website specific for the Verizon MI424WR router:

 

I was told to change the MTU setting of the Actiontec, so it will work with my Xbox. How do I change the MTU?
There are several problems with this.

1. The MTU setting is not the cause. The default MTU setting for Actiontec routers is 1492 for PPPoE connections, and 1500 for DHCP as well as Static connections. To change the MTU setting, access the My Network icon at the top of the page, then select Network Connections on the left. Then on the Network Connections page select the Broadband Connection or PPPoE Connection that is being used. You can identify the connection being used by checking the Status field, it will be connected. When the Properties page is displayed, click the Settings button. The MTU is set to Automatic by default, but if 'Manual' is selected from the drop-down, a numeric value can be entered into the text box. To save the change, click Apply at the bottom of the page. (But, the MTU setting is rarely if ever the problem.)

2. The actual problem is that the ports used by the Xbox, are not open for incoming traffic. There are two ways this can be changed.
A. Enable UPnP (Universal Plug and Play). Many of our routers and modems are delivered with UPnP disabled for security reasons. But UPnP can easily be enabled. To enable it, browse to the UPnP page in the Advanced Setup. Enable both option check-boxes, and leave the Publication drop-down at its default. Click Apply, to save the change.
B. The other way to open the ports needed by the Xbox, is to use Port Forwarding. The Xbox uses ports 88 UDP and 3074 both UDP and TCP. To open these ports, begin by logging into the router and at the main screen select the Firewall Settings icon (The Security icon in older firmware versions). Make certain that the 'General' Firewall Setting is set to Typical Security or Medium. (Any other Firewall setting will in most cases have a negative effect on the ports that the Xbox needs to work correctly.) From the left-hand menu select Port Forwarding. Click the word ADD (in red) to create a new port forwarding rule. To the right of 'Networked Computer / Device:' select the HOST Name of the Xbox from the drop-down if it is listed. If the Xbox is not listed, enter its IP address into the text box to the right of 'Specify Address'. Then, to the right of 'Protocol' click the drop-down for 'Specify Protocol' and if Xbox is not listed, click the option for 'Show All Services'. Now when you click the drop-down for 'Specify Protocol' there will be many more choices and an entry for Xbox near the bottom of the list. When you select it, the ports and protocols will be displayed. On the 'WAN Connection Type' line click the drop-down and select the WAN connection method that your router is actually using. Typically this will be either 'Broadband Connection (Coax)' or 'Broadband Connection (Ethernet)'. After selecting the correct option click Apply. Now, back at the main Port Forwarding page, click Apply to complete the port forwarding for the Xbox.

 

http://www.actiontec.com/products/faqs.php?pid=214#q8

 

JOSEm441
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 631
Registered: ‎12-17-2009

Re: MI424WR-GEN3I (Firmware)

Message 6 of 9
(30,681 Views)

It may be worthwhile to purchase a 3rd party modem. I am no expert AFA what brand.

If a forum member gives an answer you like, please give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem. Thanks !!!
http://forums.verizon.com/t5/Verizon-net-Email/Fix-for-Missing-Inbox-sent-folders-etc-with-Internet-Explorer-11/m-p/647399
Anti-Phish
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: MI424WR-GEN3I (Firmware)

Message 7 of 9
(30,677 Views)

In your initial post, you state that you're using a wired connection.


In_Domine wrote:

-Wired cable


If that's the case, why are you changing wireless settings?


In_Domine wrote:

b/g/n modes, ... changing from WPA2 to WPA and even to WEP


None of these settings will have any effect on a wired connection.

 

Bottom line, why don't you just get your own router and be done with the MI424-WR?

 

If you  have internet only, it's easy.

If you also have FIOS-TV, you will still need the Actiontec, but you can place it behind a router of your choice.

 

 

 

Anti-Phish
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,122
Registered: ‎12-04-2009

Re: MI424WR-GEN3I (Firmware)

Message 8 of 9
(30,674 Views)

@JOSEm441 wrote:

It may be worthwhile to purchase a 3rd party modem.


 

FIOS does not use modems (except in certain MDU situations).

 

 

viafax999
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,161
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: MI424WR-GEN3I (Firmware)

Message 9 of 9
(30,595 Views)

@scottydog wrote:

This comes from Actiontec website specific for the Verizon MI424WR router:

 

I was told to change the MTU setting of the Actiontec, so it will work with my Xbox. How do I change the MTU?
There are several problems with this.


 


To change the MTU you need to modify the setting from automatic to manual

select my network

select network connections

select broadband connection

select configure connection

select MTU dropdownmanual and enter your own value

select apply and ok

 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title