New FiOS Installation - Techie - Need router recommendations.
John123

We're a small business in New Jersey.  FiOS Installation coming later this week.   35/35 & 13 static ips.  

Q1:   Anyone know the make & model of the FiOS modem that will be coming?  

Q2: Router?

In our office we a couple of Web servers and 10 normal staff PCs.

Currently we have old/slow DSL/Megapath service.    The old Netopia Router does everything, a) DSL gateway,  b) firewall that we config'ed,  c) NAT (we use 192.168.1.n inside).   One cat5 to a 16port 1gb D-link switch, then to PCs .   Been working fine, haven't really messed with it in a few years.

Since I'm a newbie to VZ FiOS.  I have some basic setup Q&A for us.  I'm assuming that I should not use the VZ Modem for most of the stuff the old Netopia is doing.     So I assume I should put a new wired  ROUTER downsteam from VZ Modem.

Q2:   Can you recommend any particular Router?     Any general how-to guidelines would be appreciated !

0 Likes
Re: New FiOS Installation - Techie - Need router recommendations.
Anti-Phish1
Master - Level 1

John123 wrote:

Q1:   Anyone know the make & model of the FiOS modem that will be coming?   

FIOS does not use modems.  You will be getting an Actiontec MI-424WR router.

John123 wrote:

I'm assuming that I should not use the VZ Modem for most of the stuff the old Netopia is doing.     So I assume I should put a new wired  ROUTER downsteam from VZ Modem. 

No need.  The VZ supplied router should do everything you need.

I noticed you said you were getting 13 static IPs.  The Actiontec will only map 5 external static IPs to internal IPs (static NAT).

If you truly have 13 machines exposed to the internet, you will need a 16 port switch connected to the VZ ONT, then each machince with a public IP connected to that switch. I doubt the Netopia could keep up with the FIOS 35/35 speeds.

0 Likes
John123