Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Not getting 300/300 mbps speeds.

Reply
sabpeter
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-01-2014

Not getting 300/300 mbps speeds.

Message 1 of 12
(5,623 Views)

After the microsoft august 2014 updates were installed I noticed the green light on my nic port on the router was going out and my computer restarted when I signed out of windows 8.1 I got a blue screen with 2 button on it restart and advanced options and I had to reimage from my backup image. Before this occurred in speed test I was getting 300/300 mbps speed. So, I now have my nic cable connected to a usb 3 nic 10/100/1000 adapter. The issue is I'm not currently getting the 300/300 mbps speed in the speed tests I'm getting 20 to 60 mbps downloads speed and 280 mbps uploads speed. Can this be fixed? Thanks.

11 REPLIES 11
Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Not getting 300/300 mbps speeds.

Message 2 of 12
(5,597 Views)

I would check the duplex settings and the rwin. is your nic link light displaying your in1gb mode?

sabpeter
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-01-2014

Re: Not getting 300/300 mbps speeds.

Message 3 of 12
(5,578 Views)

Yes,

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Not getting 300/300 mbps speeds.

Message 4 of 12
(5,560 Views)

Run a network diagnostic, if you could and paste the results here. 

 

You get that from running a Verizon speedtest @ speedtest.verizon.net/fios300 

 

afterwards on the right hand side of the page it gives you some links,  one of them is called Run Network Diagnostic Tool

 

 

Run that.

 

 

Smith6612
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 7,635
Registered: ‎12-15-2010

Re: Not getting 300/300 mbps speeds.

Message 5 of 12
(5,533 Views)

Is your USB3 NIC pushed in all the way, and there's no dust messing with the connection?

sabpeter
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-01-2014

Re: Not getting 300/300 mbps speeds.

Message 6 of 12
(5,516 Views)

Will do I will run this tonight. Thanks I will add the results tonight.

sabpeter
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-01-2014

Re: Not getting 300/300 mbps speeds.

Message 7 of 12
(5,501 Views)

Ran it from the web site got 47 mbps download and 275 mbps upload from the site you mentioned.

 

Ran the ndt however, waited about 10 mins got nothing from the ndt. I saw the 1 and 0's go acroos however got no results.

MattinNJ
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎02-25-2012

Re: Not getting 300/300 mbps speeds.

Message 8 of 12
(5,473 Views)
I had identical issue after the August MS updates. My solution was to navigate to device manager, right click the NIC, and 'uninstall device' (device not driver). Wait 30 seconds or so, and then click the 'search for new hardware' button. Let Windows install the NIC and don't change any default settings. Re-try the FiOS300 speedtest. Hope this works for you too.
sabpeter
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-01-2014

Re: Not getting 300/300 mbps speeds.

Message 9 of 12
(5,448 Views)

Will try this. Thanks for the info.

sabpeter
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-01-2014

Re: Not getting 300/300 mbps speeds.

Message 10 of 12
(5,401 Views)

Try this still only getting about 68 mbps download and 275 mbps upload in the test.

 

I even tried resetting the router. I hit the reset on the router and no luck.

 

Should I maybe try going back/ re-order the 150/150 mbps service temporarily, and then going back re-order the 300/300 mbps service in my account?

 

Just a reminder I'm doing on a usb 3 network adapter a 10/100/1000 adapter.  

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title