Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get up to $500 when you bring your phone. Plus, get the incredible iPhone 13 Pro on us. Online only. With select 5G Unlimited plans. Ends 12.5. Buy now
end of navigation menu

Port Forwarding Question for IP Camera with MI424WR-GEN3

SOLVED
Reply
Howie411
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-23-2013

Port Forwarding Question for IP Camera with MI424WR-GEN3

Message 1 of 4
(3,753 Views)

So just switched to fios from cable and trying to set up port forwarding on this new actiontec router so I can view my IP Camera from outside the house.

 

The camera has a static IP address of 192.168.1.200  using port 8080 and I works fine if I type that IP address with the port into the browser inside the network.

 

The IP Camera company requires you to port forward  port 80 (switched to 8080) 554 and 50000-60000.

 

So I set up Portforwarding on the router like this:

 

Networked Computer / Device

 

192.168.1.200:8080

 

Applications & Ports Forwarded

 

IPCamera
TCP 8080 -> 8080
UDP 8080 -> 8080
TCP 554 -> 554
UDP 554 -> 554
TCP 50000-60000 -> 50000-60000
UDP 50000-60000 -> 50000-60000

 

WAN Connection Type

 

 

All Broadband Devices

 

Status

 

 

Active

 

 

Now the problem is when I type my real IP address:  108.XX.XXX.37:8080 (from inside the network it pulls up the Fios router login page and when I pull it up outside the network I get page not found.  This isnt any different then I had previously done on my Netgear router, but I must be missing something on this actiontec one.  Any suggestions?


Thanks

 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
viafax999
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,161
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: Port Forwarding Question for IP Camera with MI424WR-GEN3

Message 2 of 4
(3,722 Views)

@Howie411 wrote:

 

The IP Camera company requires you to port forward  port 80 (switched to 8080) 554 and 50000-60000.

 

So I set up Portforwarding on the router like this:

 

Networked Computer / Device

 

192.168.1.200:8080

 

Applications & Ports Forwarded

 

IPCamera
TCP 8080 -> 8080
UDP 8080 -> 8080
TCP 554 -> 554
UDP 554 -> 554
TCP 50000-60000 -> 50000-60000
UDP 50000-60000 -> 50000-60000

 

WAN Connection Type

 

 

All Broadband Devices

 

Status

 

 

Active

 

 

Now the problem is when I type my real IP address:  108.XX.XXX.37:8080 (from inside the network it pulls up the Fios router login page and when I pull it up outside the network I get page not found.  This isnt any different then I had previously done on my Netgear router, but I must be missing something on this actiontec one.  Any suggestions?


Thanks

 


 

No port on the ip address

 

Networked Computer / Device

 

192.168.1.200

 

should say tcp any on the left side of the arrow in all cases

 

TCP any -> 8080
UDP any -> 8080

 

etc

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
viafax999
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,161
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: Port Forwarding Question for IP Camera with MI424WR-GEN3

Message 2 of 4
(3,723 Views)

@Howie411 wrote:

 

The IP Camera company requires you to port forward  port 80 (switched to 8080) 554 and 50000-60000.

 

So I set up Portforwarding on the router like this:

 

Networked Computer / Device

 

192.168.1.200:8080

 

Applications & Ports Forwarded

 

IPCamera
TCP 8080 -> 8080
UDP 8080 -> 8080
TCP 554 -> 554
UDP 554 -> 554
TCP 50000-60000 -> 50000-60000
UDP 50000-60000 -> 50000-60000

 

WAN Connection Type

 

 

All Broadband Devices

 

Status

 

 

Active

 

 

Now the problem is when I type my real IP address:  108.XX.XXX.37:8080 (from inside the network it pulls up the Fios router login page and when I pull it up outside the network I get page not found.  This isnt any different then I had previously done on my Netgear router, but I must be missing something on this actiontec one.  Any suggestions?


Thanks

 


 

No port on the ip address

 

Networked Computer / Device

 

192.168.1.200

 

should say tcp any on the left side of the arrow in all cases

 

TCP any -> 8080
UDP any -> 8080

 

etc

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Port Forwarding Question for IP Camera with MI424WR-GEN3

Message 3 of 4
(3,700 Views)

That is correct, the actiontec's don't like when you define source ports, so in addition to editting your source ports to reflect ANY, you may want to give them a static assignment in the router.

 

Howie411
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-23-2013

Re: Port Forwarding Question for IP Camera with MI424WR-GEN3

Message 4 of 4
(3,682 Views)

Thanks that worked.  Not a huge fan of this router. 🙂

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title