Re: Quantum Gateway Router - Local DNS not working
FIOSfan2013
Enthusiast - Level 3

Well, misery loves company.  I just sent a message to greenwave via their "contact us" page at: http://www.greenwavesystems.com/#contact

It more than likely has to be a firmware-related issue, which gives me some hope that it will be corrected in the not-so-distant future....(assuming someone from FIOS is actually reading these posts)!

0 Likes
viafax
Contributor - Level 1

Possibly, however I tried to do the same thing on my Actiontec and it does not seem to wrk there either.  I never actually noticed before because I always added the statics into the drivers\etc\hosts file.

0 Likes
FIOSfan2013
Enthusiast - Level 3

I had been using an Actiontec MI424WR router for 2 years prior to upgrading to the G1100 "Quantum Gateway," and I never had any issues with user-defined DNS entries.  In fact, I relied on their use quite heavily (naming several key components on my LAN by name, instead of IP), which is why I am so eager to see this feature work with the G1100.

0 Likes
techinnj

Try pinging by FQDN (fully qualified domain name).

Append .fios-router.home to hostname your are trying to ping.

0 Likes
techinnj

It's been a while for me since I setup a DNS server.

I would have server search local domain first then forward to external caching server.

The Quantum router seems to be forwarding everything by default.

I will dig further.

0 Likes
FIOSfan2013
Enthusiast - Level 3

Yes, assuming the local DNS is running at all, it would seem that all lookups are forwarded to the external DNS servers.   Has anyone had any luck with Greenwave?  

0 Likes
bobniss1
Enthusiast - Level 2

Think I figured this out (Or at least what's causing the router to mess up)