RJ45 port on the ONT box
lou611661
Contributor - Level 1

i am a PC tech,and would like to use this port for downloading drivers and updates for laptops,right now i have the coaxial activated,and this port is not active,my question is can it be activated and work with the coaxial needed for TV.  

1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: RJ45 port on the ONT box
FuiosMark
Enthusiast - Level 1

The ONT is designed to delivery Internet service via Ethernet (RJ45) or via Coax, but not both

Right now, the data service is being delivered via Coax plugged in to the back of the router

The RJ45 port can be activated for data service but then the data service to the Coax will stop

If you decide to enable the RJ45, you'll need to run Cat 5 or 6 from the ONT to the router to keep the program guide, VOD and PPV services working on your TV.

Once your wiring is set up, contact the FSC and ask the agent to contact an NT to switch the ONT from Moca to Ethernet.  Any NT will be able to assist.

View solution in original post

lasagna
Community Leader
Community Leader

Why not just use the ports on the router?   

The router is connect via MoCA to the ONT (Ethernet over Coax) using a frequency around 1150Mhz with a bandwidth of about 200Mbps (this is rate throttle to whatever you service plan is).   The router also talks MoCA on a different frequency around 1000Mhz to the STB's.   This lower frequency channel is bridged to the WiFi and hardwired LAN ports on the router.

The STB's depend in the path thru the Coax to the router, thru the router LAN to WAN NAT mechanism, and then from the router to the ONT to the Internet in order to function properly.

Since you're a TV customer, this path must be preserved unaltered in order for you STB's to function properly.