Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Terrible connection

SOLVED
Reply
lorrainedunn1
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-14-2013

Terrible connection

Message 1 of 26
(4,598 Views)

I have fios internet. We saw a commercial on TV that said if we had multiple internet devices that we should upgrade to quantum speed internet. My husband clicked on it on the television and it said that it did not work and we would have to call in. We did not think anymore of it and were not terribly interested in the upgrade anyway. A few days later a router came in the mail with the new upgrade. I hooked it all up just like the first rounter was and I had connection issues from the first day. It just appeared as bad lag when going to webpages until we tried skype or seminars for my online class and then it was apparent that the problem was actually appearred to be dropping the connection. We were also being disconnected from the online game that we play, Everquest. When I called tech support they said that they would send that we should upgrade to the next highest speed and that would probably correct the problem. It did not correct the problem. The tech brought a new router for the new speed and yet we have the same problem. A few weeks later I called again. They sent out a new tech and replaced all hardware that was theirs except the router and we still have the problem. The next time I called the person said that it looked like the problem was our wiring under the house. We bought all new wires for the house and still had the problem. They sent out another tech and we still have the problem. I called back and they said the problem must be on our end. I told them it was not because I can use my wifi hotspot with Verizon with no issues. The came back with a superviser and said they believe that I do have an issue and will be working on it. That was Wednesday. They called Friday and said they are still working on it. I am so frustrated that I just do not know what to do now. I have read a TON of information on the internet and one thing said to do a tracer thing. I did that and am pasting it below. If anyone has any suggestions, please let me know.

 

news.giganews.com

traceroute to {edited for privacy}, 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 gw1-g-vlan201.dca.giganews.com (216.196.98.4) 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms
2 ash-bb1-link.telia.net (213.248.70.241) 57 ms 20 ms 56 ms
3 ash-b2-link.telia.net (213.155.130.157) 0 ms ash-b2-link.telia.net (213.155.137.225) 0 ms 0 ms
4 TenGigE0-0-0-10.GW1.IAD8.ALTER.NET (152.179.50.233) 9 ms 9 ms 4 ms
5 B400.PHLAPA-LCR-21.verizon-gni.net (130.81.163.133) 7 ms 7 ms 7 ms
6 * * *
7 * * *
8 * * *
9 * * *
10 * * *
11 * * *
12 * * *
13 * * *
14 * * *
15 * * *
16 * * Max number of unresponsive hops reached (firewall or filter?)

news-europe.giganews.com

traceroute to {edited for privacy}, 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
1 vl201.gw1.ams.giganews.com (216.196.110.3) 97 ms 97 ms 97 ms
2 te7-7.ccr01.ams05.atlas.cogentco.com (149.11.104.9) 0 ms te7-8.ccr01.ams05.atlas.cogentco.com (149.11.104.17) 0 ms 0 ms
3 te0-7-0-16.ccr21.ams03.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.72.42) 0 ms te0-7-0-25.mpd22.ams03.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.36.214) 0 ms te0-7-0-26.ccr22.ams03.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.72.50) 0 ms
4 be2182.ccr21.lpl01.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.77.246) 10 ms be2275.ccr21.lon13.atlas.cogentco.com (130.117.51.253) 8 ms be2276.ccr22.lon13.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.36.57) 8 ms
5 be2350.mpd22.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.30.185) 88 ms be2389.ccr22.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.44.181) 79 ms be2386.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.44.161) 76 ms
6 be2094.ccr21.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.30.13) 81 ms be2060.ccr21.jfk05.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.31.10) 80 ms be2095.mpd21.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.30.37) 81 ms
7 be2063.ccr21.jfk05.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.47.58) 84 ms 0.xe-8-3-0.BR2.NYC4.ALTER.NET (204.255.168.109) 119 ms be2060.ccr21.jfk05.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.31.10) 82 ms
8 0.xe-8-3-0.BR2.NYC4.ALTER.NET (204.255.168.109) 120 ms 0.xe-10-3-0.BR2.NYC4.ALTER.NET (204.255.168.113) 121 ms 121 ms
9 * P0-4-0-0.PHLAPA-LCR-22.verizon-gni.net (130.81.22.61) 129 ms *
10 * * *
11 * * *
12 * * *
13 * * *
14 * * *
15 * * *
16 * * *
17 * * Max number of unresponsive hops reached (firewall or filter?)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
lorrainedunn1
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-14-2013

Re: Terrible connection

Message 23 of 26
(2,842 Views)

Smiley Happy I just wanted to say think you to everyone that gave their input here and to let you know that the issue has now been resolved. After the last tech replaced my coax connection with the ethernet connection and the router continued to disconnect I decided that I had had enough and would just use the old router and hardwire my laptops since the wireless speeds were not very good with the old router but then I had an idea that if I used the new router as a wireless access port running through the old router and turned wireless off on the old router that that might fix the issue. I connected everything the way that the instructions were listed and it would not work properly. I was very perplexed so I disconnected everything from both routers and just started all over with the old router and did a factory reset and plugged everything in and the router just kept restarting itself. Then I was very confused and by this time exhausted so I went to bed. I turned on the television when I went to bed and my television kept restarting and I thought that is odd and that I would try to figure it out in the morning.

 

I got up the next morning and unplugged everything and decided to start over fresh with the new router with factory reset and only plug in my desktop and get it set up. It was all connected fine and working well so then I added my laptop on wireless and to my surprise, no issues. I then connected my TiVo to the network with the ethernet plug to my router and once again my router began to power cycle. I immediately disconnected the cable and the problem stopped.

 

I have since ordered a verizon set top box that I should have next week and have disconnected my TiVo from the network. I have no idea why this caused my issue but I am thankful that they changed the router to an ethernet connection or I might never have discovered the problem. 

 

Thanks again for everyone's input!

View solution in original post

25 REPLIES 25
viafax999
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,161
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: Terrible connection

Message 2 of 26
(4,570 Views)

Not sure what your traceroute was trying to do.  The address {edited for privacy} appears to be a pool address in, possibly Philadephia? maybe your router address?

What command were you using? Are you using a Mac or linux/unix based system.  In either case the results should be similar to the windows based command I used and should show you the hops from the soure (you) to the destination.  Whatever you were using appears to be resolving the address of the 2 destinations to the same ip address, possibly are you using a proxy?

A tracert (windows based) to news.giganews.com should look like this, ignore the first 2 hops as they are internal to my house network

Try using the tracert command as below, in a CMD window,  and see what results it gives you.

 

C:\Users\Peter>tracert news.giganews.com

Tracing route to news.giganews.com [216.196.121.131]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms Netgear [192.168.30.1]
2 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms Westell [192.168.1.1]
3 5 ms 5 ms 5 ms L101.BSTNMA-VFTTP-66.verizon-gni.net [96.233.107
.1]
4 14 ms 9 ms 10 ms G0-3-3-7.BSTNMA-LCR-22.verizon-gni.net [130.81.1
79.24]
5 21 ms 19 ms 84 ms ae2-0.BOS-BB-RTR2.verizon-gni.net [130.81.151.76
]
6 16 ms 15 ms 17 ms 0.ae11.XL4.NYC1.ALTER.NET [152.63.20.117]
7 18 ms 66 ms 46 ms 0.xe-9-1-0.GW13.NYC1.ALTER.NET [152.63.4.141]
8 18 ms 17 ms 19 ms comcast.com.customer.alter.net [152.179.220.126]

9 17 ms 19 ms 18 ms he-2-4-0-0-cr01.newyork.ny.ibone.comcast.net [68
.86.83.105]
10 28 ms 30 ms 25 ms he-4-13-0-0-cr01.ashburn.va.ibone.comcast.net [6
8.86.85.97]
11 48 ms 50 ms 49 ms he-4-2-0-0-cr01.56marietta.ga.ibone.comcast.net
[68.86.89.146]
12 53 ms 58 ms 54 ms pos-1-13-0-0-cr01.dallas.tx.ibone.comcast.net [6
8.86.88.238]
13 85 ms 85 ms 82 ms he-0-12-0-0-cr01.losangeles.ca.ibone.comcast.net
[68.86.86.117]
14 89 ms 86 ms 89 ms pos-0-3-0-0-pe01.600wseventh.ca.ibone.comcast.ne
t [68.86.87.210]
15 82 ms 81 ms 82 ms giganews-cr01.losangeles.ca.ibone.comcast.net [7
5.149.228.138]
16 82 ms 81 ms 82 ms news.giganews.com [216.196.121.131]

Trace complete.

 

 

Here's the same command for the news-europe.giganews.com site

 

C:\Users\Peter>tracert news-europe.giganews.com

Tracing route to news-europe.giganews.com [216.196.109.144]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms Netgear [192.168.30.1]
2 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms Westell [192.168.1.1]
3 5 ms 5 ms 5 ms L101.BSTNMA-VFTTP-66.verizon-gni.net [96.233.107
.1]
4 13 ms 9 ms 10 ms G0-3-3-7.BSTNMA-LCR-21.verizon-gni.net [130.81.1
77.24]
5 7 ms 6 ms 10 ms ae0-0.BOS-BB-RTR1.verizon-gni.net [130.81.209.86
]
6 17 ms 16 ms 16 ms 3.ae1.XT1.NYC4.ALTER.NET [140.222.228.121]
7 18 ms 15 ms 15 ms GigabitEthernet6-0-0.GW1.NYC4.ALTER.NET [152.63.
20.49]
8 16 ms 16 ms 16 ms teliasonera-gw.customer.alter.net [157.130.60.14
]
9 18 ms 16 ms 17 ms nyk-bb1-link.telia.net [213.155.135.18]
10 92 ms 93 ms 93 ms ldn-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.249.248]
11 101 ms 104 ms 103 ms adm-bb3-link.telia.net [80.91.245.220]
12 147 ms 109 ms 108 ms adm-b4-link.telia.net [213.155.132.175]
13 133 ms 137 ms 137 ms giganews-ic-124196-adm-b2.c.telia.net [213.248.1
04.178]
14 130 ms 137 ms 135 ms news-europe.giganews.com [216.196.109.144]

Trace complete.

lorrainedunn1
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-14-2013

Re: Terrible connection

Message 3 of 26
(4,556 Views)


Trace complete.

C:\Users\Lorraine>tracert www.verizon.net

Tracing route to e7327.b.akamaiedge.net [23.11.135.139]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms Wireless_Broadband_Router.home [192.168.1.1]
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 * 9 ms 19 ms G0-5-0-6.PHLAPA-LCR-22.verizon-gni.net [130.81.215.38]
4 10 ms 25 ms 5 ms ae0-0.PHIL-BB-RTR2.verizon-gni.net [130.81.209.186]
5 27 ms 27 ms 27 ms 0.ge-0-3-0.XL4.EWR6.ALTER.NET [152.63.5.225]
6 26 ms 27 ms 26 ms TenGigE0-5-0-2.GW8.EWR6.ALTER.NET [152.63.21.22]

7 * * * Request timed out.
8 28 ms 28 ms 30 ms a23-11-135-139.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.
com [23.11.135.139]

Trace complete.

C:\Users\Lorraine>

 

I did the first trace from a web based program because I was not sure how to copy from a CMD prompt but since you asked, I googled it and figured it out. Does this information tell you anything at all?

lorrainedunn1
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-14-2013

Re: Terrible connection

Message 4 of 26
(4,555 Views)

My husband has been on the phone all morning with customer support. I was wondering if we replaced the router with one that we buy if it might fix the issue. He asked customer service what one would be compatible with their service and the lady of the phone said any one would work. Is this correct?

eljefe
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: Terrible connection

Message 5 of 26
(4,552 Views)

What model router do you have now?

 

Is the input feed to the router coax or Ethernet cable?

lorrainedunn1
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-14-2013

Re: Terrible connection

Message 6 of 26
(4,538 Views)

The router is MI424WR. Coax connects to the router because we also have FIos TV. They suggested that the problem is with my wiring. To eliminate that possablity I just took the router outside and plugged in directly to their box and hardwired it to my laptop and I still have the same issues.

lorrainedunn1
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-14-2013

Re: Terrible connection

Message 7 of 26
(4,533 Views)

The ICSI Netalyzr Start » Analysis » Results Result Summary + – (help) pool-{edited for privacy}.phlapa.fios.verizon.net / {edited for privacy} Recorded at 13:40 EST (18:40 UTC), Dec 15 2013. Permalink. Client/server transcript. Summary of Noteworthy Events + – Major Abnormalities – Your DNS resolver returns IP addresses for names that do not exist Minor Aberrations – Certain UDP protocols are blocked in outbound traffic The packet loss was somewhat high The network indicated bursts of packet loss Address-based Tests + – NAT detection (?): NAT Detected + Local Network Interfaces (?): OK + DNS-based host information (?): OK + NAT support for Universal Plug and Play (UPnP) (?): Yes + Reachability Tests + – TCP connectivity (?): OK + UDP connectivity (?): Note – Basic UDP access is available. The client was able to send fragmented UDP traffic. The client was able to receive fragmented UDP traffic. UDP access to remote DNS servers (port 53) appears to pass through a firewall or proxy. The client was unable to transmit a non-DNS traffic on this UDP port, but was able to transmit a legitimate DNS request, suggesting that a proxy, NAT, or firewall intercepted and blocked the deliberately invalid request. Direct UDP access to remote NTP servers (port 123) is allowed. Direct UDP access to remote NetBIOS NS servers (port 137) is allowed. Direct UDP access to remote NetBIOS DGM servers (port 138) is allowed. Direct UDP access to remote IKE key exchange servers (port 500) is allowed. Direct UDP access to remote OpenVPN servers (port 1194) is allowed. Direct UDP access to remote Slammer servers (port 1434) is allowed. Direct UDP access to remote L2 tunneling servers (port 1701) is allowed. Direct UDP access to remote IPSec NAT servers (port 4500) is allowed. Direct UDP access to remote RTP servers (port 5004) is allowed. Direct UDP access to remote RTCP servers (port 5005) is allowed. Direct UDP access to remote SIP servers (port 5060) is allowed. Direct UDP access to remote VoIP servers (port 7078) is allowed. Direct UDP access to remote VoIP servers (port 7082) is allowed. Direct UDP access to remote SCTP servers (port 9899) is allowed. Direct UDP access to remote Steam gaming servers (port 27005) is allowed. Direct UDP access to remote Steam gaming servers (port 27015) is allowed. Traceroute (?): OK + Path MTU (?): OK + Hidden Proxy Detection (?): OK + Network Access Link Properties + – Network performance (?): Latency: 62 ms, Loss: 2.5% – The round-trip time (RTT) between your computer and our server is 62 ms, which is good. We recorded a packet loss of 2.5%. This loss rate can result in noticeable performance problems. It could be due either to significant load on our servers due to a large number of visitors, or problems with your network. Of the packet loss, at least 2.0% of the packets appear to have been lost on the path from your computer to our servers. TCP connection setup latency (?): 63ms + Background measurement of network health (?): 4 transient outages, longest: 8.0 seconds – During most of Netalyzr's execution, the client continuously measures the state of the network in the background, looking for short outages. During testing, the client observed 4 such outages. The longest outage lasted for 8.0 seconds. This suggests a general problem with the network where connectivity is intermittent. This loss might also cause some of Netalyzr's other tests to produce incorrect results. Network bandwidth (?): Upload >20 Mbit/s, Download >20 Mbit/s + Network buffer measurements (?): Uplink is good, Downlink is good + HTTP Tests + – Address-based HTTP proxy detection (?): OK + Content-based HTTP proxy detection (?): OK + HTTP proxy detection via malformed requests (?): OK + Filetype-based filtering (?): OK + HTTP caching behavior (?): OK + JavaScript-based tests (?): OK + DNS Tests + – Restricted domain DNS lookup (?): OK + Unrestricted domain DNS lookup (?): OK + DNS resolver address (?): OK + DNS resolver properties (?): Lookup latency 120 ms + Direct probing of DNS resolvers (?): + DNS glue policy (?): OK + DNS resolver port randomization (?): OK + DNS lookups of popular domains (?): OK + DNS external proxy (?): OK + DNS results wildcarding (?): Warning – Your ISP's DNS server returns IP addresses even for domain names which should not resolve. Instead of an error, the DNS server returns an address of 199.101.28.20, which resolves to search.dnsassist.verizon.net. You can inspect the resulting HTML content here. There are several possible explanations for this behavior. The most likely cause is that the ISP is attempting to profit from customer's typos by presenting advertisements in response to bad requests, but it could also be due to an error or misconfiguration in the DNS server. The big problem with this behavior is that it can potentially break any network application which relies on DNS properly returning an error when a name does not exist. The following lists your DNS server's behavior in more detail. www.{random}.com is mapped to 199.101.28.20. www.{random}.org is mapped to 199.101.28.20. **bleep**.{random}.com is correctly reported as an error. www.yahoo.cmo [sic] is mapped to 199.101.28.20. nxdomain.{random}.netalyzr.icsi.berkeley.edu is correctly reported as an error. DNS-level redirection of specific sites (?): OK + Direct probing of DNS roots (?): OK + IPv6 Tests + – DNS support for IPv6 (?): OK + IPv4, IPv6, and your web browser (?): No IPv6 support + IPv6 connectivity (?): No IPv6 support + Network Security Protocols + – DNSSEC Support from the DNS Roots (?): OK + Host Properties + – System clock accuracy (?): OK + Browser properties (?): OK + Uploaded data (?): OK

eljefe
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,217
Registered: ‎12-14-2009

Re: Terrible connection

Message 8 of 26
(4,521 Views)

Ok.  To answer your question about using another router, in most cases you'd have to get Verizon to change the Internet output from your ONT from coax to Ethernet.   You'd then have coax feeding your TV(s) and Ethernet feeding your router.

 

The Actiontec router is a MoCA device, meaning it can be fed by coax or Ethernet.  Most other off-the-shelf routers require an Ethernet feed to their WAN port.

 

Having said that, the troubleshooting you did seems to confirm that the problem you're having is not the wiring in your house.  Have you told tech support of that step you took?

 

edit:   What letter suffix is after the Actiontec's MI424WR model number?  There's a wide range of suffixs that determine the vintage and capabilty of those routers.  The latest model at the moment is the MI424WR Rev. I.

 

 

Meggiejj
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-19-2011

Re: Terrible connection

Message 9 of 26
(4,494 Views)

Good luck. I have had 2 years of them but because of the advertising of faster speeds Decided to give it another go. Today was my first day on their 25/50 and low and behold it is slower and hangs on this speed. My lower speed of 25/25 that they no longer offer was better then this.

The techs are not able to find the problem but are sending a new modem which makes me wonder from MN last night to now why would it be the modem since it was better prior to the change over.
I hope others read these replies and don't go with FIOS unless they want troubles that don't concern them. I have 30 days and I can cancel this new bundle. I am going to check other providers to see if I can do better with someone else that care and doesn't advertise and charge for what they don't give.

lorrainedunn1
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-14-2013

Re: Terrible connection

Message 10 of 26
(4,481 Views)

I have not informed them yet because no one answered my calls this evening and I am going to call the techs back that have already been to my house and let them know what I tried. This is the informatin that you asked for. Router Status Firmware Version: 40.21.10.2 Model Name: MI424WR-GEN3I Hardware Version: I Serial Number: {edited for privacy} Physical Connection Type: Coax Broadband Connection Type: DHCP

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title