Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Traceroutes - First-Tier FIOS support can't see/can't fix

Reply
destruya
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-17-2015

Traceroutes - First-Tier FIOS support can't see/can't fix

Message 1 of 13
(3,178 Views)

For about the past 96 hours, I've had broken links outbound and inbound on traceroutes.  I was told Wednesday evening that there was a 'core router' problem in my immediate area, and that it'd be fixed within 12 hours, and that I'd be attached to the 'larger ticket' of those who'd had the same complaint.

 

According to Verizon, the problem's 'fixed,' but I'm still showing broken links in the chain:

 

C:\Users\pbdye>tracert www.verizon.com

Tracing route to e10696.g.akamaiedge.net [23.196.56.206]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  Wireless_Broadband_Router.home [192.168.1.1]
  2    17 ms     7 ms     6 ms  L100.WASHDC-VFTTP-100.verizon-gni.net [173.66.23
5.1]
  3     9 ms     9 ms     9 ms  G101-0-0-23.WASHDC-LCR-22.verizon-gni.net [100.4
1.135.166]
  4     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  5     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  6    47 ms    11 ms    11 ms  0.ae2.BR2.IAD8.ALTER.NET [140.222.229.169]
  7    10 ms    11 ms    10 ms  64.212.107.57
  8    10 ms    15 ms     9 ms  lag17-30G.csr2.DCA3.gblx.net [67.16.149.161]
  9    15 ms    13 ms    12 ms  akamai.ethernet14-1.csr2.dca3.gblx.net [64.214.1
29.106]
 10    12 ms    12 ms    11 ms  a23-196-56-206.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.
com [23.196.56.206]

Trace complete.

I use verizon.com because I want to spend as little time outside the Verizon network as possible.  I know hops 4 and 5 are still within the FiOS network because I pretty routinely traceroute to find latency issues.  But trying to explain this to a first-tier tech is getting me nowhere, because all they're concerned with is 'does it work?,' and when the answer is 'yes,' anything that follows that seems to take on the tone of Charlie Brown's teacher.

 

They've already released my IP address, 'reset my router' (something I already did)...I'm trying to get to someone who actually *administrates* the FiOS network.

12 REPLIES 12
destruya
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-17-2015

Re: Traceroutes - First-Tier FIOS support can't see/can't fix

Message 2 of 13
(3,177 Views)

And it's not just outgoing - when I use a 'traceroute me' website, I get this path inward:

 

traceroute.exe to ({edited for privacy}), 30 hops max, 38 byte packets
 1  209.132.180.92 (209.132.180.92) [AS31976] hostmaster@redhat.com  0.429 ms  0.313 ms  0.317 ms
 2  transit-2-180-132-209.redhat.com (209.132.180.2) [AS31976] hostmaster@redhat.com  0.590 ms  0.519 ms  0.570 ms
 3  ip-163-181-132-209.redhat.com (209.132.181.163) [AS31976] hostmaster@redhat.com  0.452 ms  0.606 ms  0.421 ms
 4  te0-0-1-0.nr11.b019174-0.phx02.atlas.cogentco.com (38.88.238.29) [AS174] dns@cogentco.com  1.230 ms  1.210 ms  0.875 ms
 5  154.24.18.25 (154.24.18.25) [(null)] dns@cogentco.com  1.271 ms  1.503 ms  1.176 ms
 6  te0-4-1-6.ccr22.phx02.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.1.229) [AS174] dns@cogentco.com  1.774 ms  1.701 ms  1.422 ms
 7  be2331.ccr22.lax01.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.30.193) [AS174] dns@cogentco.com  13.213 ms  13.412 ms  13.397 ms
 8  be2179.ccr23.lax05.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.41.82) [AS174] dns@cogentco.com  13.663 ms  13.728 ms  13.429 ms
 9  uunet.lax05.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.13.86) [AS174] dns@cogentco.com  12.759 ms  12.921 ms  12.841 ms
10  * * *
11  * * *
12  pool-.washdc.fios.verizon.net ({edited for privacy}2) [(null)] dns@verizon.com  72.156 ms  72.805 ms  74.235 ms

CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 8,008
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Traceroutes - First-Tier FIOS suppo Traceroutes - First-Tier FIOS support can't see/can't fix

Message 3 of 13
(3,171 Views)

Its not uncommon for some intermediate devices to no respond to a traceroute.

Doesn't mean anything is wrong.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
cf05
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-18-2015

Re: Traceroutes - First-Tier FIOS support can't see/can't fix

Message 4 of 13
(3,110 Views)

I'm having the same issue. Just switched from Comcast expecting great things. A little dissapointed so far. During online games I have a great ping (15-20ms to a McLean, VA based server), but have really bad packetloss, no doubt in connection with the 4th hop timing out regularly. Hopefully this is temporary, otherwise I'll be pretty upset.

 

 

Tracing route to verizon.com [23.15.9.178]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms 1 ms <1 ms FIOS_Quantum_Gateway.fios-router.home [192.168.1
.1]
2 6 ms 6 ms 5 ms lo0-100.RCMDVA-VFTTP-302.verizon-gni.net [71.115
.29.1]
3 9 ms 9 ms 8 ms T0-5-0-7.RCMDVA-LCR-22.verizon-gni.net [100.41.1
30.140]
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 10 ms 17 ms 11 ms 0.xe-4-1-2.XL4.IAD8.ALTER.NET [152.63.32.21]
6 10 ms 11 ms 25 ms TenGigE0-7-0-4.GW1.IAD8.ALTER.NET [152.63.36.222
]
7 10 ms 12 ms 13 ms akamai.customer.alter.net [152.179.50.158]
8 12 ms 10 ms 10 ms a23-15-9-178.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.co
m [23.15.9.178]

Trace complete.

 

seitzbg
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎01-05-2015

Re: Traceroutes - First-Tier FIOS support can't see/can't fix

Message 5 of 13
(3,102 Views)

Please try using:

 

http://sourceforge.net/projects/winmtr/

 

Also, the only thing that matters is the destination latency.  A lot of times routers de-prioritize ICMP and like others said a hop with * * * doesn't mean it's a 'bad' traceroute.  Post up some results with WinMTR.

cf05
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-18-2015

Re: Traceroutes - First-Tier FIOS support can't see/can't fix

Message 6 of 13
(3,089 Views)

To verizon.com below.

 

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| No response from host - 100 | 267 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 266 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 266 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 266 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 266 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 266 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 266 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
|a72-247-9-112.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com - 5 | 266 | 255 | 16 | 19 | 52 | 18 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR - 0.8. Copyleft @2000-2002 Vasile Laurentiu Stanimir ( stanimir@cr.nivis.com )

seitzbg
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎01-05-2015

Re: Traceroutes - First-Tier FIOS support can't see/can't fix

Message 7 of 13
(3,066 Views)

@cf05 wrote:

To verizon.com below.

 

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| No response from host - 100 | 267 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 266 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 266 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 266 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 266 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 266 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| No response from host - 100 | 266 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
|a72-247-9-112.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com - 5 | 266 | 255 | 16 | 19 | 52 | 18 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
@WinMTR - 0.8. Copyleft @2000-2002 Vasile Laurentiu Stanimir ( stanimir@cr.nivis.com )


 

This looks more like your router/gateway is blocking the packets.  It should look something like:

 

https://www.bsd-unix.net/seitz/screenshots/2015-04-18_2146.png

 

Also, try this version: http://sourceforge.net/projects/winmtr/files/WinMTR-v092.zip/download

cf05
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-18-2015

Re: Traceroutes - First-Tier FIOS support can't see/can't fix

Message 8 of 13
(3,038 Views)

This isn't pretty:

 

|------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------|
| WinMTR statistics |
| Host - % | Sent | Recv | Best | Avrg | Wrst | Last |
|------------------------------------------------|------|------|------|------|------|------|
| FIOS_Quantum_Gateway.fios-router.home - 7 | 112 | 105 | 0 | 1 | 11 | 1 |
|lo0-100.RCMDVA-VFTTP-302.verizon-gni.net - 3 | 128 | 125 | 4 | 8 | 86 | 7 |
| T0-5-0-7.RCMDVA-LCR-21.verizon-gni.net - 4 | 123 | 119 | 5 | 8 | 17 | 7 |
| No response from host - 100 | 27 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| 0.ae1.BR1.IAD8.ALTER.NET - 6 | 116 | 110 | 10 | 13 | 65 | 14 |
| ix-20-0.tcore1.AEQ-Ashburn.as6453.net - 5 | 120 | 115 | 10 | 12 | 54 | 13 |
| if-2-2.tcore2.AEQ-Ashburn.as6453.net - 5 | 121 | 116 | 19 | 21 | 33 | 23 |
| if-11-2.thar2.NJY-Newark.as6453.net - 31 | 62 | 43 | 18 | 22 | 99 | 25 |
| if-14-14.tcore2.NTO-New-York.as6453.net - 5 | 120 | 115 | 17 | 21 | 158 | 26 |
| 63.243.128.69 - 5 | 120 | 115 | 16 | 18 | 23 | 18 |
| 63.243.128.10 - 4 | 124 | 120 | 16 | 19 | 52 | 19 |
|a184-26-44-96.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com - 5 | 120 | 115 | 16 | 19 | 142 | 25 |
|________________________________________________|______|______|______|______|______|______|
WinMTR v0.92 GPL V2 by Appnor MSP - Fully Managed Hosting & Cloud Provider

 

 

destruya
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-17-2015

Re: Traceroutes - First-Tier FIOS support can't see/can't fix

Message 9 of 13
(3,016 Views)

Good, so it's not just me.  And thanks for the editing, Elizabeth.

 

This isn't a peak time issue, either - I do a lot of work at night during off-peak times, and hop #4 is still down.  Granted, it's better than before, when hops 3 *and* 4 were down, but obviously one regional router/gateway got fixed, and the other one's still malfunctioning.

 

And I know dropped hops don't necessarily mean it's a *bad* connection, but I've been having packet loss issues and intermittent yet noticeable latency.  It's one of those 'tiny violin' problems - for people who don't tax their connection, the problem isn't vexing...but for people who *do* have to rely on low-latency, it's maddening.

destruya
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-17-2015

Re: Traceroutes - First-Tier FIOS support can't see/can't fix

Message 10 of 13
(2,973 Views)

This has actually gotten worse.

 

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\pbdye>tracert www.verizon.com

Tracing route to e10696.g.akamaiedge.net [23.10.113.11]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  Wireless_Broadband_Router.home [192.168.1.1]
  2     7 ms     7 ms     6 ms  L100.WASHDC-VFTTP-100.verizon-gni.net [173.66.23
5.1]
  3    13 ms    11 ms     9 ms  G0-13-1-1.WASHDC-LCR-21.verizon-gni.net [130.81.
109.182]
  4    83 ms    49 ms    39 ms  ae3-0.RES-BB-RTR1.verizon-gni.net [130.81.199.13
0]
  5     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  6    33 ms    35 ms    33 ms  0.ae11.GW1.MIA19.ALTER.NET [140.222.225.77]
  7    34 ms    34 ms    34 ms  akamai.customer.alter.net [63.65.188.50]
  8    33 ms    34 ms    34 ms  a23-10-113-11.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.c
om [23.10.113.11]

Trace complete.

So...Hop 4 is resolving, albeit slowly, and now it's Hop 5 that's 'broken.'

 

EDIT: Nope, Hop 4 still isn't resolving on anything other than verizon.com or .net.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title