Upgrading old dvr/stb/router with existing coax and Google nest for fios internet/TV?
mgdpublic
Enthusiast - Level 3

I've currently got a very old dvr and set top boxes running through coax and Google nest using the old orange actiontec modem as a bridge.  I don't know why it works because I read in a guide that you needed to have ethernet coming from the ONT to be able to do this.  I'm terrified upgrading my dvr will bring this whole house of cards down and I won't know how to fix it because I'm not too good with networking stuff. Im happy with coax - I'm on a 50 mb plan and have no complaints. Will I have to upgrade to ethernet use the new router or will my speeds just be capped? I recall thinking I couldn't upgrade my stuff at one point because something wouldn't be compatible but I can't recall what it was.  Will I be able to use the latest and greatest fios stuff using the router as a bridge with google nest or am I gonna run into problems? Do I even need to upgrade router if I'm just using it as a bridge?  The only issue I have currently is that I can't control the dvr throught the ios app which I don't mind.  Thanks for help

0 Likes
Re: Upgrading old dvr/stb/router with existing coax and Google nest for fios internet/TV?
dexman
Community Leader
Community Leader

A few quick bullet points:

. Using a coaxial cable connection for Internet service between the ONT and a router will cap the speed.

. Using an ethernet cable between the ONT and the router will allow for faster Internet speeds.

. The 424 is an obsolete router and has been EoL for a while.

. The G1100 is still current, but if the past is any indication, the unit will be winding down sooner rather than later.

. The G3100 is the current router except for users who subscribe to multi-gigabit Internet service.

. If there is a subscription to FiOS television, a Verizon router must be used as the primary in order for all features to function including STB updates.