Using Nighthawk X10
Beats1
Enthusiast - Level 3

Okay I am new to Fios and am trying to learn the setup. I have 300/300 speeds, tv and home phone. I own the Nighthawk X10 router and want to use it instead of the quantum gateway I am currently renting from Verizon. After hours of work I finally got everything running properly but have one question that I hope someone can answer for me before I attempt trial and error. 

The way I have this set up is as follows. I have Ethernet from ont box directly to my internet port on the X10, coax run from ont to quantum gateway that was placed into bridge mode than I had to run an Ethernet cable from my X10 to the wan port on quantum (so all the cable boxes along with on demand would work). Now to my question. Do I need this quantum gateway or can I just buy a MoCa adapter and replace the quantum gateway all together? Anything special I would need to do to get it to work or just plug it in? Any advice would be great. Thank you all for your help!

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Using Nighthawk X10
JustinG1
Community Leader
Community Leader

Glad to hear you were able to setup your own router.

Yes, the process to replace the G1100 (Quantum Gateway) all together would be very easy. Any MoCA bridge deivce, and I would suggest: http://a.co/8apg1XI

All you need to do is transfer the coax from the Quantum Gateway to the Coax In input on the aciontec adapter, then plug an ethernet cable in from the adapter to a LAN port on your X10. Reboot the set top boxes, and make sure they have connectivity. 

Alternately, if you feel adventerous and have an old Aciontec MI424WR router laying around (the old Verizon routers), or if you pick one up for cheap (about $10-15 on Ebay), you can use these instructions to turn it into a MoCA adapter for half the price of the Aciontec router: https://www.justingoetz.net/docs/docs_actiontec/Actiontec_MoCA_Bridge.html

View solution in original post

Oolyttle