Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots
bushleaguer
Enthusiast - Level 3

Thanks for the documentation of what you've gone though with this, FatherMadman.......I was considering calling again next week but I really don't know what that would accomplish at this point.

0 Likes
Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots
bushleaguer
Enthusiast - Level 3

Can I ask a question for those who are tech-savvy......I currently have the quantum 75/35 service with this nightmare of a router.

If I downgrade to one of the older routers, I will be unable to receive the 75/35 service as those older routers are not set up for it, yes? (I'm sure there is a more technical way to put that but I'm a novice).

Thanks for the help as this is driving me nuts.

0 Likes
TheHangingJudge
Enthusiast - Level 3

@bushleaguer wrote:

Can I ask a question for those who are tech-savvy......I currently have the quantum 75/35 service with this nightmare of a router.

If I downgrade to one of the older routers, I will be unable to receive the 75/35 service as those older routers are not set up for it, yes? (I'm sure there is a more technical way to put that but I'm a novice).

The older routers are neither wireless 802.11N nor gigabit.  As for 75/35 speeds, yes if you are wired to the router, no if you are wireless.  On the wireless side, the router is only 802.11G which has a top speed of 54mb/s vs. the 802.11N which on this router is 130/144mb/s.

0 Likes
viafax999
Community Leader
Community Leader

@bushleaguer wrote:

Have your router provisioning changed to ethernet and then procure your own gigabit/wireless-n router and make it the gateway router rather than the verizon one.

0 Likes
Chuckh19581
Enthusiast - Level 3