Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get up to $500 when you bring your phone. Plus, waived smartphone activation fee when you buy online. Limited time offer.
end of navigation menu

Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

SOLVED
Reply
sangs
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 527
Registered: ‎06-24-2010

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 361 of 465
(4,165 Views)

@g00py wrote:

Rebooted four minutes ago. This time, my laptop wasn't even on. Instead, I was streaming through the Xbox One. Time for my 100th ineffectual call to support.


Why even bother at this point, what exactly do you think they're going to do differently? What is it they say about the definition of insanity? 😉 (Mine rebooted again overnight. so I'm definitely chalking it up to the reintroduction of the Tivo. Maybe I'll try the Rev. F again, see if the same thing occurs.)

g00py
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎01-14-2014

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 362 of 465
(4,133 Views)

Maybe I'll start a campaign to bring Google Fiber to my area instead.

g00py
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎01-14-2014

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 363 of 465
(4,088 Views)

According to a document on Actiontec's site, firmware for the Rev. I was recently updated.

 

http://support.actiontec.com/doc_files/Current_Firmware_Versions.pdf

 

Can anyone confirm? Better yet, anyone have a copy of the .rmt?

g00py
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎01-14-2014

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 364 of 465
(4,064 Views)

UPDATE: Contacted Actiontec support and they passed the buck to Verizon, who said there's no updated firmware available. However, none of this explains why Actiontec refers to a recent incremental update in at least two places on their website.

beckolamuffin
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-15-2013

Very Slow connection with Actiontec MI424-WR Revision i (GigE)

Message 365 of 465
(4,047 Views)

I was having a problem with very slow download speeds (as tested by Verizon speed test, Ookla speed test, and others). Upload speeds were impacted as well, but not nearly as much.  Often, the upload speed would be 10 times faster than the download speed.  This was happening on both wired and wireless connections. The issue was particularly acute on longer downloads; the initial download speed was often normal or near normal, but would rapidly slow down to a crawl.

 

I tried rebooting the router and the ONT without any real change.  I also reset the router to factory defaults.  Again, no change.

 

What has helped a lot was reflashing the current firmware version to the router by using the "force upgrade" option in the web interface for router management.  Speeds are better now.  Will have to test for a few days more to be sure.

 

Hope this helps someone.

g00py
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎01-14-2014

Re: Very Slow connection with Actiontec MI424-WR Revision i (GigE)

Message 366 of 465
(4,022 Views)

What version firmware were you running before and what are you running now?

beckolamuffin
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-15-2013

Re: Very Slow connection with Actiontec MI424-WR Revision i (GigE)

Message 367 of 465
(3,981 Views)

I was, and am, running 40.21.10.2, dated 9/30/2013.

 

And I still seem to be having periodic slow issues.  My next step might be to dig out the old MI424wr router and hook that up instead.

g00py
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎01-14-2014

Re: Very Slow connection with Actiontec MI424-WR Revision i (GigE)

Message 368 of 465
(3,976 Views)

Yeah, seems that what you're experiencing is separate to what the rest of us on this thread have been dealing with. But I think you're correct in that it's probably something specific to the Rev. I. I wouldn't be surprised if going with an older rev solves all your problems...it certainly helped people experiencing periodic reboots.

 

ccrochet
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-11-2011

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 369 of 465
(3,874 Views)

Same thing here.

 

My network was doing GREAT until I put a new Cisco HD STB on my network in my son's room.

 

Now, my MI424WR router seems to reboot randomly 5-6 times per day.

 

Fortunately, when I'm working from home he's not here, so I can get away with disconnecting power to the Cisco STB during my work hours.

 

Hope they come up with a solution soon. This is kind of a pain...

 

Thanks...

-C

g00py
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎01-14-2014

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 370 of 465
(3,865 Views)

Just checked for new firmware via my router and got a message saying that 40.21.10.3 is available. Funny, since Verizon swore only two days ago that this version didn't exist. 

 

Anywaaaaaay...guess I'll take a gamble and upgrade. I suppose it can't make the Rev. I any worse. (I hope.)

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title