Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

SOLVED
Reply
cyberdome
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎01-15-2014

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 391 of 465
(3,173 Views)

thanks so much for the info buddy. basically last night i was firmware on the router 40.21.10.2. and now after the firmware update it has Current Version: 40.21.10.3. this is what causing the issue. before the firmware update everything was super fast and excellent. now everything is horrible.

EVERYONE be careful of the new firmware update.

cyberdome
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎01-15-2014

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 392 of 465
(3,166 Views)

OUTAGE IN USA.  the new firmware version. 40.21.10.3 has caused dropping packets and caused an outage all over the States. just found out by technical support.  

 

 

BEWARE of this NEW FIRMWARE UPGRADE.

sangs
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎06-24-2010

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 393 of 465
(3,159 Views)

No problems with it on my end, aside from the reboots, which were happening with the previous firmware too. Only sites that are slow to load for me are these Verizon Forums and the main Verizon site - and they've always been clunky. Otherwise, no difference whatsoever from the .2 firmware.

 

Could just be the default answer for the tech support people when they can't fix your problem.

g00py
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎01-14-2014

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 394 of 465
(3,084 Views)

Yeah, I second that. The .3 firmware didn't have an appreciable impact on my connection at all. Of course, it didn't fix my rebooting issue either, but I didn't have much confidence that it actually would.

 

So, cyberdome, tech support is telling you that the new firmware is causing widespread connection issues? Did they mention when a fix would be coming?

SakuraSiri
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-25-2014

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 395 of 465
(3,067 Views)

Signed up to reply. I am a long time FiOS customer and have also been having issues with my Actiontec router for months. I have been calling tech support non stop. I just did the firmware update as well and it hasn't helped. Even changed that proxy setting that was mentioned earlier in the thread. 

 

Sometimes when my router would reboot itself the 'Internet' light would remain lit up Amber instead of Green. This could happen anywhere from 15 minutes to well over an hour and a half I would'nt have a connection. I am completely fed up with this Rev. I router. I have a tech coming to my house in the morning to run an ethernet cable so I can buy my own router, looking at that nice Asus one. 

 

I can't deal with the Actiontec rebooting itself 2-5 times a day whenever it feels like it. Whenever I call,  none of the techs knew about the router issue. I have had my ONT which was only maybe 6 months old replaced, the router replaced twice, cleaned my coax connections individually at the request of a tech support rep. I've done everything like some of the other posters have.  

 

I have wanted off the Actiontec router for awhile but I have TV/Internet/Phone. I hope they get a fix out for the router soon so that everyone doesn't have to deal with it anymore. Good luck to everyone else!

cyberdome
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎01-15-2014

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 396 of 465
(3,047 Views)

No, ETA yet,  they said they are working on it.  I just changed the MTU settings to 1496 and everything is working fine now. so far so good.  ***knock on wood***

 

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-Internet/Unable-To-Connect-To-Certain-Websites/m-p/685483#M46075

 

 

good luck to everyone!  hope Verizon is coming with a FIX.

g00py
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎01-14-2014

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 397 of 465
(2,999 Views)
FYI to the group -- I reverted back to .2 once I saw no benefit to .3. A prudent move, I figured, given Verizon's customary habit of making things worse.
Pattonator
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-06-2014

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 398 of 465
(2,947 Views)

I posted my solution.  Works great so far and my internet should never drop again.

 

http://forums.verizon.com/t5/FiOS-Internet/Solution-to-router-reset-issue-with-Actiontec-routers/td-...

 

Essentially buy a new router from someone other than Actiontec and only use the Actiontec router with the coax for the STB's.  There is a link in my post that gives detailed step by step instruction which I followed.  The only difference was that that this was for the Rev A and changing the IP of the Actiontec router required a couple of extra steps.

g00py
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎01-14-2014

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 399 of 465
(2,822 Views)

Looks like Verizon pushed .3 a little while ago, which is odd since there's a report that it's responsible for an outage of some kind. My router upgraded on its own about 14 hours ago.

jphilly37
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-22-2014

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 400 of 465
(2,785 Views)

Update from m y side:

 

Tech came out replaced everything still rebooted (shock and awe).  Came back out, I asked for a REV F router, installed and all is good with the world.  I could care less about N and dual antenna's.  Stable connection is key for me.  So I'm "happy" (for now).  Good luck to everyone else, I'm not sure what it's going to take for verizon to see it's an issue with the REV I, but all signs point to that direction.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title