Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

SOLVED
Reply
g00py
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎01-14-2014

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 431 of 465
(3,940 Views)

Ditto. I've been up for 11 days without a reboot. The Rev. I seems to be stable even when I boot up my laptop, which is something that *always* caused it to choke in the past. Can't account for what's changed, but I doubt the firmware update is responsible, since it rebooted several times after I upgraded. 

Antonios
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-04-2014

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 432 of 465
(3,877 Views)

The new Rev F rebooted yesterday morning after 5 days.  The issue remains.

sangs
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎06-24-2010

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 433 of 465
(3,872 Views)

This could just be a coincidence, but I'm thinking it's not.

 

Yesterday, for the first time since the "Quantum" speeds were rolled out, my house is now eligible for the 150/65 speed package - and above. Before yesterday I was "limited" to 50/35 and lower. This pretty much coincides with my Rev. I router now approaching 20 days without a reboot. I'm thinking something must have been done to the node in my neighborhood (or whatever the heck the technical term is) and that maybe as a result it's become more stable now. That's the theory I'm running with. Otherwise, I'm at a loss for why the Rev. I has suddenly stopped its annoying daily reboot behavior. Don't get me wrong, I'm happy about it, but I'm also a guy that likes definitive answers. 🙂

viafax999
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,161
Registered: ‎11-10-2009

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 434 of 465
(3,795 Views)

@sangs wrote:

This could just be a coincidence, but I'm thinking it's not.

 

Yesterday, for the first time since the "Quantum" speeds were rolled out, my house is now eligible for the 150/65 speed package - and above. Before yesterday I was "limited" to 50/35 and lower. This pretty much coincides with my Rev. I router now approaching 20 days without a reboot. I'm thinking something must have been done to the node in my neighborhood (or whatever the heck the technical term is) and that maybe as a result it's become more stable now. That's the theory I'm running with. Otherwise, I'm at a loss for why the Rev. I has suddenly stopped its annoying daily reboot behavior. Don't get me wrong, I'm happy about it, but I'm also a guy that likes definitive answers. 🙂


Poosibly you are correct and that would also explain why my router has never rebooted.

I just checked my fios internet eligibilty here and apparently my area is OK for up to the 500/100 service.

TheHangingJudge
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎01-21-2014

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 435 of 465
(3,791 Views)

My area was also changed to support higher speeds based on my service level options online.  Maybe there is something to the node changes.  I also went from rebooting to stable.

cyberdome
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎01-15-2014

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 436 of 465
(3,679 Views)

did yours firmware update.  Now, my ROUTER is running firmware version  40.21.10.3 .

TheHangingJudge
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎01-21-2014

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 437 of 465
(3,676 Views)

Yes, but my router was stable before the update.

sangs
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎06-24-2010

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 438 of 465
(3,435 Views)

Well, guess it's good news for all involved that this thread has been dormant since early April. I'm at 37 straight days without a reboot, so I'm thinking that the issue is resolved. Don't know how, don't know why, but I'm glad it is. 

thenamesed
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-19-2014

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 439 of 465
(3,281 Views)

@sangs wrote:

Well, guess it's good news for all involved that this thread has been dormant since early April. I'm at 37 straight days without a reboot, so I'm thinking that the issue is resolved. Don't know how, don't know why, but I'm glad it is. 


I just got through reading this topic and people's post I'm currently having this issue I believe... just read the post I made on an old topic. I have exact problems of **bleep** **bleep** rebooting but all lights are green.... when the routr reboots for you guys is the lights on it all green?

BaconBits
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-27-2014

Re: Verizon FIOS Router Actiontec MI424WR-GEN3I Issue - Dropped Connections - Constant Reboots

Message 440 of 465
(3,154 Views)

Well this has started happening to me about two weeks ago and at first it was a blip but has now turned in to longer reboot times and happening more frequently. After reading through this thread I'm not sure I want to even deal with Verizon tech support. So sad what this ISP has become in a short time. It was the greatest thing for years but the more I've searched the subject the more I get baffled. It happens sporatically to people all over. Is it hackers OR Is it some new testing they're doing that is mucking up everything OR Is it new hardware they're installing that just mucks up the network? I also wonder if it has anything to do with the new consoles. I don't have any exact timing but I recently got a new PS4 and while I didn't have problems the moment it was connected it started sometime shortly after for sure.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title