Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Why is Ethernet connection to ONT required for Gigabit service?

SOLVED
Reply
JBell
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎02-17-2011

Why is Ethernet connection to ONT required for Gigabit service?

Message 1 of 5
(2,140 Views)

I'm upgrading from 100/100 to Gigabit service and also moving to the new G3100 router.  I was told that I'll need to relocate the new router to have an Ethernet connection with the ONT to support the faster speed.  Why is it that the coax can't support above 100mps for connection to the ONT but it can handle 1000mps via MOCA bonded 2.0, or even faster with MOCA 2.5? I don't like that I'm going to need to stick my router down in the garage at the far corner of my house so that it has an Ethernet connection. That will create some other issues to deal with. Pulling Cat6 from the ONT to my preferred router location isn't a realistic option.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Edg1
Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 1,984
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Why is Ethernet connection to ONT required for Gigabit service?

Message 2 of 5
(2,139 Views)

@JBell wrote:

I'm upgrading from 100/100 to Gigabit service and also moving to the new G3100 router.  I was told that I'll need to relocate the new router to have an Ethernet connection with the ONT to support the faster speed.  Why is it that the coax can't support above 100mps for connection to the ONT but it can handle 1000mps via MOCA bonded 2.0, or even faster with MOCA 2.5? I don't like that I'm going to need to stick my router down in the garage at the far corner of my house so that it has an Ethernet connection. That will create some other issues to deal with. Pulling Cat6 from the ONT to my preferred router location isn't a realistic option.


The ONT is MoCA 1.1 so that's why speeds over 100 mbps isn't possible. If running ethernet isn't possible you will have to move the router to the garage. Then you can get fios network adapter(FNA) where your router currently is and connect it to a wireless AP. You could also accomplish this with an E3200 but I believe they are $200. The FNAs are only $55. 

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Edg1
Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 1,984
Registered: ‎06-24-2018

Re: Why is Ethernet connection to ONT required for Gigabit service?

Message 2 of 5
(2,140 Views)

@JBell wrote:

I'm upgrading from 100/100 to Gigabit service and also moving to the new G3100 router.  I was told that I'll need to relocate the new router to have an Ethernet connection with the ONT to support the faster speed.  Why is it that the coax can't support above 100mps for connection to the ONT but it can handle 1000mps via MOCA bonded 2.0, or even faster with MOCA 2.5? I don't like that I'm going to need to stick my router down in the garage at the far corner of my house so that it has an Ethernet connection. That will create some other issues to deal with. Pulling Cat6 from the ONT to my preferred router location isn't a realistic option.


The ONT is MoCA 1.1 so that's why speeds over 100 mbps isn't possible. If running ethernet isn't possible you will have to move the router to the garage. Then you can get fios network adapter(FNA) where your router currently is and connect it to a wireless AP. You could also accomplish this with an E3200 but I believe they are $200. The FNAs are only $55. 

JBell
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎02-17-2011

Re: Why is Ethernet connection to ONT required for Gigabit service?

Message 3 of 5
(2,125 Views)

Thanks - makes sense. I assumed it was probably old MOCA hardware in the ONT. The point of getting the G3100 was for the improved wifi speed and range.  Using a different access point would negate that, or at least require met to buy another new wifi router.  I'll give it a shot with the G3100 in the garage and see if the coverage and speed is good.  I'll also need to run a MOCA adaper where my router currently is to feed my wired network.

gs0b
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 2,143
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: Why is Ethernet connection to ONT required for Gigabit service?

Message 4 of 5
(2,123 Views)

Do you have FiOS TV service?  If not, there is an  un-supported method you can consider to have a coax connection between the ONT and router.

JBell
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎02-17-2011

Re: Why is Ethernet connection to ONT required for Gigabit service?

Message 5 of 5
(2,018 Views)

Yes - I have Fios TV as well.  As long as the wifi coverage and speed is good with the new router in the garage I don't really have an issue so I'll just need to give it a try.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title