WiFi at Starbucks
bmh12
Enthusiast - Level 2

Its free and supposed to be simple one-click access yet I cant seem to figure it out.  I dl'd wifi client and set up acct.  My pc is a Toshiba NB505 N500BL netbook with Win7 Home Prem.  Help please.

Re: WiFi at Starbucks
jumpin68ny
Master - Level 2

Isn't Internet access at Starbucks now free?  No need for the Wifi Client.  

My last visit to Starbucks all I did was connect to the in-store SSID, open my browser and agee to the T&C's.

Is the problem you are experencing when using the wifi client or have you tried to connect without it.

0 Likes
bmh12
Enthusiast - Level 2

Yes its now free at Starbucks.

Maybe thats the problem...trying to connect with the Verizon wifi client.  How do I connect without it? Or how do I connect to the SSID ?  Do I have to somehow remove the Client first  (if so, how?)?  Pretty much need step-by-step as I'm new to the wifi thing.  Thank you for the help!

smith6612
Community Leader
Community Leader

WIndows has a built-in utility (as of Windows XP) that will allow it connect to access points. It shouldn't matter if the Verizon Wi-Fi Manager is running or not, though try using the built-in Windows program to connect to it. It can be accessed by clicking on the appropriate icon near the clock (either radio bars with a yellow star, or a PC with a radio wave coming out of it). Give it a shot while at Starbucks.

bmh12
Enthusiast - Level 2

I dont have eithjer one of those icons showing.  I do have one with bars....five bars that go from short to tall but no yellow star.  I click on that at Starbucks and cant get on. How do I get those icons in there?  Seems like Im the only one having difficulty with this.  Everything works fine here at home.

viafax999
Community Leader
Community Leader

@bmh1 wrote: