Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Cable splitter

SOLVED
Reply
norm4701
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-22-2010

Cable splitter

Message 1 of 5
(1,489 Views)

I am trying to go from a 2way to a 3way splitter on the outside of my house.I have tried 2 splitters already and the problem is that I don't get internet,or on demand,or the telephone number on the TV.The TV pictures are great.Any help would be great .Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: Cable splitter

Message 5 of 5
(1,444 Views)

@norm4701 wrote:

the last one I tried was Ideal 5MHz-2.3GHz. It did not work!


The splitter needs to be bi-directional to the router to support the IP functions like caller id, On-Demand, etc.  Said another way, the signal has to get to the STB from the router and be able to get back to the router for the IP functions to work. 

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
xfactor
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎06-18-2012

Re: Cable splitter

Message 2 of 5
(1,483 Views)

You have to get a splitter that is rated 5-1000mhz, ghz or better in order for the VOD and menu and internet to continue working.  Double check your splitters, and return/exchange them for higher rated ones if they don't match that description. 

norm4701
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-22-2010

Re: Cable splitter

Message 3 of 5
(1,479 Views)

the last one I tried was Ideal 5MHz-2.3GHz. It did not work!

Hubrisnxs
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,881
Registered: ‎07-22-2009

Re: Cable splitter

Message 4 of 5
(1,451 Views)

2.3ghz splitter should be fine, did you cap off any unused ports.  if you leave some open ones you get signal bleed and that signal bleed may be your problem.   

PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: Cable splitter

Message 5 of 5
(1,445 Views)

@norm4701 wrote:

the last one I tried was Ideal 5MHz-2.3GHz. It did not work!


The splitter needs to be bi-directional to the router to support the IP functions like caller id, On-Demand, etc.  Said another way, the signal has to get to the STB from the router and be able to get back to the router for the IP functions to work. 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title