Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Caller ID Frustration

Reply
Dahorns
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-13-2010

Caller ID Frustration

Message 1 of 9
(5,180 Views)

Have tried to activate CallAssistant and all I get is the null Id page.

According to tech, you need CallAssistant to get Caller ID on your FiosTV to work;  "Yet I have activated my in-laws caller ID on their Fios setbox without activating the callAssistant and theirs has been working.


Mine worked one day and has not worked ever since. And talked to Tech support twice with no help other then they are working on the callassistance web page so keep trying for  the next few hours. Has been a couple of weeks and I'm still trying.


Have done everything from resetting/rebooting/poweroff/power on. Reset from my home agent to Tech support resetting from their end.


Help Please!! I still have faith in Verizon!

8 REPLIES 8
spacedebris
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,692
Registered: ‎05-17-2009

Re: Caller ID Frustration

Message 2 of 9
(5,140 Views)

Caller ID seems to be a thorn in Verizon's side. In fact they have stopped the roll out on it to other locations because they cant get it to work correctly. Your definatly not alone in this. I'm afraid I cant help as I dont get it here yet, but with all the posts about it and from what I hear from my friend at tech support, its going to be buggy for a while. It looks like it was rolled out before it was ready.




====================================================================================

Error exists between keyboard and chair.
Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Caller ID Frustration

Message 3 of 9
(5,132 Views)

 


@spacedebris wrote:

Caller ID seems to be a thorn in Verizon's side. In fact they have stopped the roll out on it to other locations because they cant get it to work correctly. Your definatly not alone in this. I'm afraid I cant help as I dont get it here yet, but with all the posts about it and from what I hear from my friend at tech support, its going to be buggy for a while. It looks like it was rolled out before it was ready.


What you say may very well be true, but for me it is working flawlessly, has for about 6 - 7 months now with only one exception - one day I noticed that I was not seeing the popups on the TV, I went into the Menu, disabled Caller ID and then re-enabled it, and within the next hour it was working again. The only failure I know of. On the other hand, I know for sure that one person here in the same VHO has had it work, not work, work, not work, etc. for months - what is the difference? I sure don't know. But I have gotten very used to having it, and like the reliability (and I don't have to use the VCA client on my PC any more, every time Verizon made "improvements" to that software the worse it got until it got to the point it wouldn't work at all).

 

Just my experience, hopefully they will be able to get it to the same level for everybody, I really think there is light at the end of the tunnel.

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP6416-P1, IMG 1.7.1, Build 09.97
Keller, TX 76248

PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: Caller ID Frustration

Message 4 of 9
(5,057 Views)

My experience is mostly the same as Justin's.  The Caller ID TV popup stopped working once in January, and at the same time the Verizon Call Assistant PC application and web site stopped working.  I contacted VCA support and they said that a software upgrade to the telephone switch had broken the trigger that was supposed to be sent to both the VCA server and the FiOS TV Caller ID process.  This was fixed quickly and Caller ID has been flawless since then -- knock on wood.

bobbo527
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎01-15-2009

Re: Caller ID Frustration

Message 5 of 9
(4,966 Views)

@spacedebris wrote:

Caller ID seems to be a thorn in Verizon's side. In fact they have stopped the roll out on it to other locations because they cant get it to work correctly. Your definatly not alone in this. I'm afraid I cant help as I dont get it here yet, but with all the posts about it and from what I hear from my friend at tech support, its going to be buggy for a while. It looks like it was rolled out before it was ready.


 

I actually enrolled last week and have not had any issues. It seems to be working just fine for me.

Dahorns
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-13-2010

Re: Caller ID Frustration

Message 6 of 9
(4,922 Views)

"Thank You to All of You that responded to my post".


"Just one question to all who have caller id working as of now!

Did you go through or implement the Call Assistant Activation before you enabled caller id in your set box?

 

Any word on CallAssistant working in signing in?

 

Again Thankls Guys!

 

 

Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Caller ID Frustration

Message 7 of 9
(4,919 Views)

 


@Dahorns wrote:

"Thank You to All of You that responded to my post".


"Just one question to all who have caller id working as of now!

Did you go through or implement the Call Assistant Activation before you enabled caller id in your set box?

 

Any word on CallAssistant working in signing in?

 

Again Thankls Guys!

 

 


As I said earlier, I have had caller ID on TV working for maybe 6-7 months. I got VCA about a year prior to that, so the answer for me would be yes.

 

I just logged into the VCA website without any problems. I no longer use the VCA client as I have had trouble with all of the client software versions after the very first one. Plus I really don't need the client when I am can see the calls on the TV Smiley Very Happy

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP6416-P1, IMG 1.7.1, Build 09.97
Keller, TX 76248

Mar-65
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎10-08-2009

Re: Caller ID Frustration

Message 8 of 9
(4,883 Views)

When I saw this post yesterday I went and checked my STB to see if the CallerID had shown up. It wasn't there a few weeks ago.

 

All these steps were done on the STB

It was there. I clicked on a menu choice to activate it.

I was prompted to enter my Phone number.

I then received a message that My number was not a Verizon number.

Immediately after clicking OK on that message I got a new message that said I was eligible but I had to sign up for VCA.

The popup walked me through reading the Terms and registering for VCA.

A few hours later CallerID was working on my TV.

 

Dahorns
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-13-2010

Re: Caller ID Frustration

Message 9 of 9
(4,876 Views)

 


@marc3565 wrote:

When I saw this post yesterday I went and checked my STB to see if the CallerID had shown up. It wasn't there a few weeks ago.

 

All these steps were done on the STB

It was there. I clicked on a menu choice to activate it.

I was prompted to enter my Phone number.

I then received a message that My number was not a Verizon number.

Immediately after clicking OK on that message I got a new message that said I was eligible but I had to sign up for VCA.

The popup walked me through reading the Terms and registering for VCA.

A few hours later CallerID was working on my TV.

 


 

 

Thanks "marc" & "Justin" for the follow-up! All input will certainly help me and all others with similiar conflicts.

 

I think here's where my problem is: I try to sign in to CallAssistance and it goes through all steps except before going to the webpage and finalize and gives me the nullid like I mentioned before. I'll keep trying to make sure its not my system.

I know its not the browser cause I tried with Safari & FireFox.

I don't think I need to go into my router?

 

 You're the reason why this forum works great! Thks Guys.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title