Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

CallerID on TV

SOLVED
Reply
JustGotFiOS
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎01-25-2013

CallerID on TV

Message 1 of 7
(1,817 Views)

About a week ago I enabled the caller ID display on my STB. Yesterday I was watching TV and a call came in, but I did not see anything on the TV. I checked and caller ID was still enabled. Is there more that I need to do than that?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
walt178
Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: CallerID on TV

Message 2 of 7
(1,807 Views)

Check the Alert Duration.  If it is set for two seconds it's possible that it just disappeared too quickly.

 

If that is OK try the Caller ID Troubleshoot function.  I've never used it, but it might help.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
walt178
Gold Contributor II
Gold Contributor II
Posts: 991
Registered: ‎11-06-2012

Re: CallerID on TV

Message 2 of 7
(1,808 Views)

Check the Alert Duration.  If it is set for two seconds it's possible that it just disappeared too quickly.

 

If that is OK try the Caller ID Troubleshoot function.  I've never used it, but it might help.

JustGotFiOS
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎01-25-2013

Re: CallerID on TV

Message 3 of 7
(1,784 Views)

Thanks for the reply. I checked and it is set to 10 seconds, which should be plenty of time. I did the troubleshooting and now I will see if that does anything.

PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: CallerID on TV

Message 4 of 7
(1,779 Views)

@JustGotFiOS wrote:

Thanks for the reply. I checked and it is set to 10 seconds, which should be plenty of time. I did the troubleshooting and now I will see if that does anything.


If you did the troubleshooting and it worked you should have seen a popup caller id alert.  Did you see it?  If so it works.  Be aware that on an infrequent basis some calls may not contain caller ID information.  This happens sometimes for me for AT&T cell phone users.  I don't get caller ID on my phone either in this case.

JustGotFiOS
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎01-25-2013

Re: CallerID on TV

Message 5 of 7
(1,756 Views)

Does that apply to any calls that would show up on the phone as 'unknown'? I used to have TWC and there caller ID would show for everyting even when only the calling number or 'nothing' was there to report.

 

I did not see the alert, but most likely because I did not expect it to show up. When the message came that the reset will take 60 seconds I just walked away. Will try this again and watch for the alert.

 

Thanks for replying!

PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: CallerID on TV

Message 6 of 7
(1,732 Views)

@JustGotFiOS wrote:

Does that apply to any calls that would show up on the phone as 'unknown'? I used to have TWC and there caller ID would show for everyting even when only the calling number or 'nothing' was there to report.

 

I did not see the alert, but most likely because I did not expect it to show up. When the message came that the reset will take 60 seconds I just walked away. Will try this again and watch for the alert.

 

Thanks for replying!


No, if "unknown" or "private" the approriate information will show.  The case I was speaking about is when no caller ID data (the actual caller ID bits) are sent from the caller's phone switch, or they're not received properly by the Verizon switch (or digital voice server).

JustGotFiOS
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎01-25-2013

Re: CallerID on TV

Message 7 of 7
(1,610 Views)

I don't get that many calls so it took a while for me to see the caller ID show on TV a few times. It now comes up, but not for all calls. It's a hit or miss.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title