Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Can I program remote to adjust volume via my receiver?

Reply
dpcv8
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-30-2014

Can I program remote to adjust volume via my receiver?

Message 1 of 6
(2,833 Views)

Two of my TV's are hooked up to an audio receiver and I want to be able to program the volume buttons on the Veizon remote to control the reciver while the rest of the buttons work the TV (power, etc).

 

My old DirectTV remotes did this no problem.

 

I can't seem to find a way to do it with the Verizon ones. Is this even possible or do I need to use two remotes (the verion remote and the receiver remote to control the audio) or switch to a third party universal?

5 REPLIES 5
PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: Can I program remote to adjust volume via my receiver?

Message 2 of 6
(2,820 Views)

Two four-button remote can be programed to allow control of the receiver audio, but the two button cannot.

JoeMan
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-29-2014

Re: Can I program remote to adjust volume via my receiver?

Message 3 of 6
(2,779 Views)

Four button remote is no longer standard but you can purchase it. You can also purchase a five button remote from Walmart for $10 that can be programmed to control everything including Motorola set top boxes. 

PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: Can I program remote to adjust volume via my receiver?

Message 4 of 6
(2,763 Views)

@PJL wrote:

Two four-button remote can be programed to allow control of the receiver audio, but the two button cannot.


Edit:  "Two" should be "The."  Sorry for the typo.

tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Can I program remote to adjust volume via my receiver?

Message 5 of 6
(2,759 Views)

Note the receiver volume for some is controlled through the HDMI-CEC connection.  I.e your TV realize its connected to a receiver and it sends the volume controls signals to the receiver.

 

In my case the TV (a Samsung 2012 model) is connected to a Denon via a ARC HDMI connection and the volume is controlled.

dpcv8
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-30-2014

Re: Can I program remote to adjust volume via my receiver?

Message 6 of 6
(2,698 Views)

4 button remote worked great. Thanks.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title