Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get up to $500 when you bring your phone. Plus, get the incredible iPhone 13 Pro on us. Online only. With select 5G Unlimited plans. Ends 12.5. Buy now
end of navigation menu

Can't connect to DVR remotely - through web or mobile app

Reply
emaniacnj
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-17-2011

Can't connect to DVR remotely - through web or mobile app

Message 1 of 16
(16,988 Views)

This was working just a day or so ago, and now I cannot access my DVR either through the website or iPhone mobile app.  I saw the other posting where some type of back-end "re mapping" needs to take place.  Can I have the same assistance?  This is also the second time this has happened to me, and I've only had the service for a month or so.  This is a great part of the service, but it needs to work.  In fact I was just asked to rate the mobile app this AM, and gave it a high mark.  Then tried it and no access to DVR.  Quite frustrating.

 

Here is the message through web - I masked the box name:

 

Set-Top Box - xxxxxxxxxxxx is not responding.

 

Through mobile it says:

 

Error - Network connection fo FiOS services timed out.

 

Thanks.

15 REPLIES 15
BigPete82
Bronze Contributor III
Bronze Contributor III
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎12-07-2008

Re: Can't connect to DVR remotely - through web or mobile app

Message 2 of 16
(16,958 Views)

I'm having the same issues on the FIOS TV CENTRAL website as well as the new Android app.  It refuses to connect and download my favorites or my dvr recording lists...  Same errors as the post above.

Anthony_VZ
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 3,216
Registered: ‎02-24-2011

Re: Can't connect to DVR remotely - through web or mobile app

Message 3 of 16
(16,934 Views)

There could be a couple things going on. The portforwarding in the router might be locked up. Before we remap the boxes, please reboot the router by turning it off then back on. If you are still experiencing the problem after doing that, please send me a private message.

Anthony_VZ

**If someones post has helped you, please acknowledge their assistance by clicking the red thumbs up button to give them Kudos. If you are the original poster and any response gave you your answer, please mark the post that had the answer as the solution**

Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supersede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or plan

Henryjhdez
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-13-2011

Re: Can't connect to DVR remotely - through web or mobile app

Message 4 of 16
(16,751 Views)
I am having the exact same issue. I can't connect remotely through web or iPhone app. I called for support and customer service told me to call apple. Certainly not an appropriate answer. Is there any way that you can help me.
BDSou812
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎01-20-2010

Re: Can't connect to DVR remotely - through web or mobile app

Message 5 of 16
(16,724 Views)

I too have had the same issue including this morning! Sometimes I simple go to the menu and select options My Services/TV/DVR and everything works!!Man Surprised Worked fro me this morning!Smiley Wink

mashghoool
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-18-2012

Re: Can't connect to DVR remotely - through web or mobile app

Message 6 of 16
(16,532 Views)
I am getting a "bad gateway" error message on the web dvr on fios central., and then i get a "gateway timeout" on the recorded shows. whats going on? i also cant log in using my iphone app either anymore. it shows the schedule, but not the dvr schedule.
bjh
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-03-2011

Re: Can't connect to DVR remotely - through web or mobile app

Message 7 of 16
(16,507 Views)

tried to follow online guide to get dvr to work remotely but its not working. unplugged...replugged router...same with set top box.

when online fios cant see or recognize my set top box dvr...knows the model and where it is located but cant access it.

 

put app on iphone yesterday and i am getting the same failure messages as the others. i am noticing that chat doesnt even work today for support.

 

any suggestions that might work?

 

its a great tool when it works...

thanks,

brent

 

nubby122
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-01-2011

Re: Can't connect to DVR remotely - through web or mobile app

Message 8 of 16
(16,497 Views)

Same here.  Phone support tried a few things, said it would be taken care of by the next day and I would receive a text.  Next day and no text.  Posted on here and I have done some things w/ the verizon rep.  On third day now of exchanging emails.  Looking up the service request, I am supposed to be done by 5:00 tonight.  Yeah right! 

I don't know when it stopped working, but it isn't working when I need it.  I think that is the purpose of it.

(also android app not working, doesn't connect)

ace3
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-25-2012

Re: Can't connect to DVR remotely - through web or mobile app

Message 9 of 16
(16,162 Views)

This has happened twice to me. I have used Live Chat and informed the fios agent  I'm getting the time issue. They either "re-map or reconnect " and it works immediately. No need to turn on the SB or change anything.

 

This assumes, it has work in the past. The issue occurred when I switched my SBs. 

 

It seems when you order the new DVR SB, they switch something on the back end, thus the new SB can work. Then, if you do not upgrade and continue to use the old SB, Remote DVR stops working. - I chatted via Live Agent and it worked.

 

Later, I upgraded to new SB box and DVR remote stopped working. Thus, I assumed they had remapped to old SB, hence new SB did not work. Chatted via Live Agent and it works...

 

It works from iphone, Ipad and pc. From Iphone it works from Fios DVR remote and DVR Manager app.

 

Hope this helps

 

tammyandlee
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-30-2013

Re: Can't connect to DVR remotely - through web or mobile app

Message 10 of 16
(11,836 Views)

I am having the same problem. Just had TV activated Friday. When I call support they suggest factory router reset. That does not fix it. 

 

Anthony_VZ can you help?

 

Thanks.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title