Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

FIOS freezing

Reply
hoopitup2000
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-29-2011

Re: FIOS freezing

Message 11 of 16
(1,558 Views)

There IS a problem in northern VA & no one seems to notice/care how to resolve the problem. See my initial post below.

 

Local SD channels freeze in the morning

For about a month or so (about the same time as 1.9 update) all SD local FIBER FED channels will freeze at the same time on all SD & HD boxes. (3,4,5,6,7,8,9,13 . . . . )The HD versions of these same channels never have this problem. It happens most every morning about 3-5 times.

 

After about 20-30 seconds either;

1. The channel will change to another random local channel by itself.

2. The channel is not available message will appear.

 

This is also a problem at a co-workers house in Vienna, VA. (I'm in Arlington) We both have just gotten new boxes this week & still having the same issue. Signal strength is not the issue. I can't believe we are the only 2 people having this issue.

 

Any ideas?????

 

Thx!!

hoopitup2000
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-29-2011

"NO" FIOS Technical Assistance

Message 12 of 16
(1,502 Views)

This forum should change it's name if no one will even give advice regarding a REAL/CONSISTENT problem. (Yes, still freezing this morning) If I need to call service (which is a pain) just say so.

 

Just discovered that the home agent is useless for this as well. They want me to reset the boxes AGAIN. Like we haven't already done all of these things at least twice.

 

Thanks for nothing!! CAN YOU HEAR ME NOW!!

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: "NO" FIOS Technical Assistance

Message 13 of 16
(1,496 Views)

I am out of the same VHO-4 from SilverSpring, MD. Have no issues with local channels. But as far as Freezing, my DVR does it every now and then after being paused. Oh yes it is winter, and very freezing outside too.Smiley Frustrated

 

Have you tried contacting Verizon for support? We are customers and can't fix anything on their end.

http://www22.verizon.com/content/contactus/

hoopitup2000
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-29-2011

Re: "NO" FIOS Technical Assistance

Message 14 of 16
(1,493 Views)

Thanks for the info Mark!!

 

I thought this would be a good place to go. Sorry for the rant. I will try the link supplied or call.

 

It seems to only affect the Fairfax/Arlington feed, so that may help Verizon diagnose the issue. My mother lives in Manassas & has no issues.

 

Have a good day!!Smiley Happy

Hhhs8
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-28-2015

Re: FIOS freezing

Message 15 of 16
(940 Views)
I don't think it is the STB, as I am having the same problem, and I use a TiVo box with a cable card. Maryland
DDERF
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-10-2015

Re: FIOS freezing

Message 16 of 16
(879 Views)

I'm having the same issue in FL.  I switched to Verizon a little over 3 weeks ago and I have had the problem on every tv in the house and on just about every channel from day 1.  The picture will freeze for a second and then jump to live.  I contacted a rep and she stated that a fix will be out March 15th for my area.  The sad thing is that I switched because I was tired of loosing programing during the slightest bit of rain and now instead of having issues every few days, I have a problem every day all day.  The rep also said there was a current fix but it only works half of the time and sometimes the DVR will fail to reboot leaving you with out TV.  Daily frustration waiting on March 15th.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title