Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

FiOS TV One VMS4100 Audio Pass Through Only Passing 5.1 Channels

Reply
ari2419
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎07-19-2010

Re: FiOS TV One VMS4100 Audio Pass Through Only Passing 5.1 Channels

Message 61 of 71
(2,305 Views)

Yeah, rather than order another audio extractor and tinker, I think I'm going to let this one be... as its mostly working as I wanted.  I left the audio on "Auto" rather than "Passthrough," as I figured that was the default, and I'm not clear what the difference was anyway.

clem53
Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 1,960
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: FiOS TV One VMS4100 Audio Pass Through Only Passing 5.1 Channels

Message 62 of 71
(2,304 Views)

@ari2419 wrote:

Yeah, rather than order another audio extractor and tinker, I think I'm going to let this one be... as its mostly working as I wanted.  I left the audio on "Auto" rather than "Passthrough," as I figured that was the default, and I'm not clear what the difference was anyway.


Good question. I know passthrough is supposed to simply send through what ever audio format the source is encoded with, but may not be 100% working right now, a fix in the near future is in the works. Don't know what auto is, but if it works, go with it!

MusicLover1013
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-11-2020

Re: FiOS TV One VMS4100 Audio Pass Through Only Passing 5.1 Channels

Message 63 of 71
(2,238 Views)

Has this issue been resolved?  Verizon keeps trying to entice me with the new equipment, but if this audio issue still happens it would be a deal-breaker.

 

 

mtk12002
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎03-23-2019

Re: FiOS TV One VMS4100 Audio Pass Through Only Passing 5.1 Channels

Message 64 of 71
(2,209 Views)

To the best of my knowledge and clem53, and from the most recent communications from Verizon Technical Support, the issue has not been fixed yet and they are working on it. I had the new VMS4100 when I started this thread on March 24, 2019 and after 6 months I downgraded back to the VMS1100 that I had previously and it has worked flawlessly ever since. I hope this answers your question MusicLover1013.

Ttimeib
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-23-2020

Re: FiOS TV One VMS4100 Audio Pass Through Only Passing 5.1 Channels

Message 65 of 71
(2,144 Views)

So okay I also am having the 5.1 HTS PROBLEMS with no help, yeah bought the optical cord ETC, MORE MONEY TO FIOS AND STILL NO HELP,,, YES I SHOULD HAVE GOTTEN ANOTHER SOUND BAR AS I DID FOR MY OTHER TV AND ALSO I AM A VERY SATTISFIED CUSTOMER WITH VERIZON,,, SO FIOS,, PLEASE HELP ME AS WELL AS ALL OTHERS,,, THANKS... 

clem53
Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 1,960
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: FiOS TV One VMS4100 Audio Pass Through Only Passing 5.1 Channels

Message 66 of 71
(2,137 Views)

@Ttimeib wrote:

So okay I also am having the 5.1 HTS PROBLEMS with no help, yeah bought the optical cord ETC, MORE MONEY TO FIOS AND STILL NO HELP,,, YES I SHOULD HAVE GOTTEN ANOTHER SOUND BAR AS I DID FOR MY OTHER TV AND ALSO I AM A VERY SATTISFIED CUSTOMER WITH VERIZON,,, SO FIOS,, PLEASE HELP ME AS WELL AS ALL OTHERS,,, THANKS... 


So what exactly is your problem? What equipment do you have? What are you trying to do? What have you tried?

Wayne234
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-15-2020

Re: FiOS TV One VMS4100 Audio Pass Through Only Passing 5.1 Channels

Message 67 of 71
(1,954 Views)

So I just had Fios one installed and noticed this issue right away (all sound coming over as 5.1). Is my only option asking to downgrade my box?  Will that have any other affects? 

 

clem53
Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 1,960
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: FiOS TV One VMS4100 Audio Pass Through Only Passing 5.1 Channels

Message 68 of 71
(1,943 Views)

@Wayne234 wrote:

So I just had Fios one installed and noticed this issue right away (all sound coming over as 5.1). Is my only option asking to downgrade my box?  Will that have any other affects? 

 


Did yo try the Passthrough option in audio settings? Could help.

Wayne234
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-15-2020

Re: FiOS TV One VMS4100 Audio Pass Through Only Passing 5.1 Channels

Message 69 of 71
(1,936 Views)

@clem53 wrote:

@Wayne234 wrote:

So I just had Fios one installed and noticed this issue right away (all sound coming over as 5.1). Is my only option asking to downgrade my box?  Will that have any other affects? 

 


Did yo try the Passthrough option in audio settings? Could help.


Am I missing this option? Menu > Settings > Audio&Video > Audio. I’m not seeing a passthrough option there. 

Wayne234
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-15-2020

Re: FiOS TV One VMS4100 Audio Pass Through Only Passing 5.1 Channels

Message 70 of 71
(1,855 Views)

Found how to change to passthrough but it didn’t make much of a difference. I can deal with it, just happy to be back with Fios after trying the other all in one box. Thanks for the info. 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title