Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get up to $500 when you bring your phone. Plus, get the incredible iPhone 13 Pro on us. Online only. With select 5G Unlimited plans. Ends 12.5. Buy now
end of navigation menu

FIOS TV Skipping or Stopping for a fraction of a second

Reply
FromChinoHills
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-09-2015

Re: FIOS TV Skipping or Stopping for a fraction of a second

Message 71 of 80
(4,227 Views)

Same exact problem in Chino Hills.  Just upgraded to Quantum TV and now all 5 boxes hesitate and even jump back a second or so throughout viewing of live TV.  Very annoying.  Is there a fix?  Still looking for answer.

Stolog
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎11-07-2011

Re: FIOS TV Skipping or Stopping for a fraction of a second

Message 72 of 80
(4,192 Views)

I am having the same issues, sometimes ever worse.

I finally got feed up with it and scheduled a service call last week.

The tech checked the signals and all was good in both directions.

Apparently there are still some issues with the software.  He told me that the next software update was "scheduled" for mid April which might fix it.

The official notification went out to the service techs on 2/26 about the issue according to him.  As part of the temporary fix Verizon is once again going to implement the revolviing off-hours reboot of the media server. So it sounds like another memory leak issue.

The one important thing he noted is that the current issue they are attempting to solve is identified by looking at the display on the media server when watching live TV.  When the skip, hesitates or reversing accures look at the display should switch from the time to the channel. If this is what you are seeing than that is the issue they know about and are working to fix.

If you don't see this happen notify Verizon because you may have a bad media server.

(At the ime I could not give him a clear answer because the family was too busy yelling at the TV to notice what the display was doing. After knowing about the issue I could see it happen.)

I ended up replacing the media server. Still waiting to see if things are any better.

To me the issue was more previlant when recording/viewing mutiple channels.

HTH

AnnieP2
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-10-2015

Re: FIOS TV Skipping or Stopping for a fraction of a second

Message 73 of 80
(4,046 Views)
Same problem here... I am amazed that Verizon could put out such a horrible product as that Quantum Router.. I also had that Actiontec.. Excuse spelling.. At least that router was more stable.
FloridaFiOS
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-06-2012

Re: FIOS TV Skipping or Stopping for a fraction of a second

Message 74 of 80
(3,930 Views)

Same problem here for a couple of days now (greater Tampa area). Picture and sound scrambles for a few seconds and goes back to normal - also an issue with On Demand-shows which don't seem to work at all by staying scrambled...

 

BTW, I do NOT have Quantum...

ImStillaYankee
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-26-2012

Re: FIOS TV Skipping or Stopping for a fraction of a second

Message 75 of 80
(3,901 Views)
Same problems as everyone else here in Land O Lakes, FL.this is simply ridiculous. Have Quantum TV, 75mbps up & down. Last week it was Internet issues, only got 1-2mbps a couple of days.this week it's this skipping/freezing issue that's getting rapidly worse. I'd say a refund is in order Verizon and I'm going to starting filing official complaints about it too. starting with my local Representatives and ending with our PSC. Not that any of them care, but when the news media starts getting wind of problems like this all over the East Coast for over a month I bet the stuff will finally hit the fan.
FloridaFiOS
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-06-2012

Re: FIOS TV Skipping or Stopping for a fraction of a second

Message 76 of 80
(3,873 Views)

@ImStillaYankee wrote:
Same problems as everyone else here in Land O Lakes, FL.

That's EXACTLY where I am as well. What a small world...Smiley Wink

bhenry001
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎12-06-2014

Re: FIOS TV Skipping or Stopping for a fraction of a second

Message 77 of 80
(3,865 Views)

I suggest we try an experiment. When the skipping starts to get worse and worse, and odd things begin to happen check the memory of the Media Server (DVR) and remote box.  I noticed everything goes really bad when the memory left is in the two digits.

 

To get the  memory left,  point your remote at the box and hold the green D button for 5 seconds.  Just count by 1000s. Then release the D button.  A white screen should come up.  By default the 01 Diagnostics should be selected.  Press the OK button on the remote.  Using the down arrow on the remote select 08 Memory Configuration. Take note of the Memory Free and the Total CPU Load. Post the results to this thread.

 

Reboot any box that has less than 100Mbytes free. See if it improves.  Check every once in a while and see if the memory continues to decrease. See if the same pattern happens again when it gets low in memory.

 

Bruce

djmel
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎11-16-2013

Re: FIOS TV Skipping or Stopping for a fraction of a second

Message 78 of 80
(3,837 Views)

i live in new york and have same the problem

Jerry_Kurtz
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎03-13-2015

Re: FIOS TV Skipping or Stopping for a fraction of a second

Message 79 of 80
(3,816 Views)

We are having the same problem too, must be a Verizon problem. We are in Parkesburg Chester County Pa.

LawrenceC
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 12,073
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

Re: FIOS TV Skipping or Stopping for a fraction of a second

Message 80 of 80
(980 Views)

As this thread is now over two years old, it will be locked in order to keep discussions current. If you have the same or a similar question/issue we invite you to start a new thread on the topic.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title