Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get up to $500 when you bring your phone. Plus, get the incredible iPhone 13 Pro on us. Online only. With select 5G Unlimited plans. Ends 12.5. Buy now
end of navigation menu

FIOS TV Skipping or Stopping for a fraction of a second

Reply
CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 8,010
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Technical problem

Message 61 of 80
(3,009 Views)

I have read all of the complaints people have.

But I like gs0b have not seen it (or very much).

I can watch TV for hours and never see it.
Then maybe once or twice, but it is gone.

So yes some people (the complaints are only a small percentage of total users) are having it worse than others.


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
YNOTK
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-21-2015

Re: FIOS TV Skipping or Stopping for a fraction of a second

Message 62 of 80
(3,010 Views)

I just turned my tv on and my box said that it recieved an update. Watching now to see if the skip happens at all. 

 

 

2 min later.... still skipping Man Frustrated

gs0b
Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 2,196
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: Technical problem

Message 63 of 80
(2,995 Views)

I follow all of the posts here and have seen the reports of issues  Regardless, you assertion that this affects all FiOS users is untrue.  I know of at least one user it doesn't affect; me.  Your assertion that this is a wide spread issue affecting all FiOS users is what caused me to respond - it's a statement based on conjecture, not fact.

 

Remember that people who don't have problems won't be posting about how happy they are, so we users have no way of really knowing how many people are seeing issues like this.

 

It's possible these problems are only on the new Quantum DVR system.  I'm using the older Multi-Room DVR system.  I've seen some complaints about Quantum.  It is a new system and it does appear that not all the kinks have been worked out based on the reports here.  Are you on Quantum?

 

Oh, and don't forget that this is a peer-to-peer forum.  Your requests for account credits and the like will not be seen by any one at Verizon.  If you want something from Verizon, you need to contact them directly, not post here.

 

TV service is not regulated by the government.  State PUCs won't step in.

 

Enjoy.

 

paul1701
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-05-2009

Re: FIOS TV Skipping or Stopping for a fraction of a second

Message 64 of 80
(2,964 Views)

I am in northern NJ. I do have a DVR but do  not have Quantum but notice problem only on live morning TV (specifically TODAY show). My observation is on a TV connected to a box that is not the central dvr box. Approximatesly  once every half hour on the morning live show there is a hiccup, where a word/soundbite is repeated - Reminds me a little of one of the effects used for that MaxHeadroom character. I have not observed problem for prime time shows or on evening news shows.  

Snuffy95
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-07-2015

Re: FIOS TV Skipping or Stopping for a fraction of a second

Message 65 of 80
(2,938 Views)
Hey All possible solution. Having trouble with my Media Server. Turns out it may be any Coax splitters you have with your setup.

All of my splitters were Moca 1.0 (I had to wiki that). With the Quantum service you need to be Moca 2.0 in order for the service to work appropriately. I had 4 splitters total in my network all were replaced with Moca 2.0. Been working great since no hiccups.

Something to try hope it helps.
jfreund
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-07-2015

Re: FIOS TV Skipping or Stopping for a fraction of a second

Message 66 of 80
(2,904 Views)

We installed FIOS just a few weeks ok.  We have also developed the same problem described by the previous postings. We are in Northern Jew Jersey. All our boxes are new and worked fine for the first 1-2 weeks. This problem seems to occur at all of our TV boxes. Clearly this is a system wide problem. This problem does not seem to affect our Internet connection. Nevertheless Verizon must attended to this problem.

scope
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-06-2015

Re: FIOS TV Skipping or Stopping for a fraction of a second

Message 67 of 80
(2,876 Views)

Yes.  Every channel.  Only on live TV.  Is it defective equipment at home?  Or transmission problems?  Just started with Quantum equipment.

 

sighklr
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-07-2015

Re: FIOS TV Skipping or Stopping for a fraction of a second

Message 68 of 80
(2,828 Views)

Anyone notice that when the skipping happens - the display on the cable box changes from the current time to the current channel, then back to the current time??  The skipping is getting very annoying, and occuring on every channel.  Signed up for FIOS in October...already had to have the main box swapped out due to hardware failure, and now the skipping...

Yet another unhappy Pittsburgh customer..

Kanril77
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-07-2015

Re: FIOS TV Skipping or Stopping for a fraction of a second

Message 69 of 80
(2,793 Views)

Here in the Diamond Bar area in CA. Switched to Quantum a few months back, and about 3 weeks ago we have also been having problems on our HD channels with Skipping on live TV.  I had no issues prior with the old service, and it happens on all my TVs since the switch. its not a specific room. Pretty aggreviating when watch any of the games, especially hockey.

Harryda
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-11-2012

Re: FIOS TV Skipping or Stopping for a fraction of a second

Message 70 of 80
(2,711 Views)

I've had the problem the last day or so and it happens on both my TVs so it's not an isolated problem. I just installed an update prior to the problem showing up. 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title