hdmi audio problem
fwellers

Hi,

Newbie here with a question.

I can't get audio anymore from my hdmi input. So I switched to regular rca input and it works, but of course no HD available.

So I'm going to go buy a new hdmi cable, but from problems in the past, I suspect the TV hdmi circuit may have an audio issue.

If that becomes the case, how can I hook up my fios hd dvr to the tv so that I can get HD ?

I know nothing about component video, I see there is a component video output on the fios dvr, and I also have a component input on my tv.

If i hook up cables to those, will I get HD and sound ?

Any ideas ?

Thanks Much.

Floyd

0 Likes
Re: hdmi audio problem
Justin46
Legend

Yes, you can use the component connections for the video, and the audio connections for the sound, and you will receive an HD picture.

I would doubt that the HDMI cable would fail. Before you do anything else, turn off the STB, remove the power plug, wait 30 seconds, plug it back in, turn it on, and see if you get any audio. The Motorola STBs that Verizon use occasionally get themselves kinda confused in a number of areas, and removing the power frequently fixes it (until something gets it confused again...).

If removing the power doesn't work, do you have a second HD TV that you could hook up to the existing STB and cable? If that works it isn't the cable, its the first TV - just trying to make sure the cable is really the culprit. Or of course it could be the STB, in which case you need to contact Verizon for a replacement.

If you wind up needing to get a new HDMI cable, don't go buy one of those over-priced things at places like Best Buy or Circuit City, unless you just have to have it today. Try www.monoprice.com or one of the other web sellers of HDMI cables, you can usually get one for 10% to 25% of the cost at one of the big box stores, and it will work just as well.