Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get up to $500 when you bring your phone. Plus, waived smartphone activation fee when you buy online. Limited time offer.
end of navigation menu

HDMI frame loss when set to 1080i output.

Reply
Alisongoldfrapp
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-05-2011

HDMI frame loss when set to 1080i output.

Message 1 of 6
(1,175 Views)

I have a Vizio TV that drops frames and shows several black lines at the top when the cable box is set to output in 1080i  and it only does it on certain channels. The TV does support 1080i. It doesn't happen when I set to output at 720p. The problem suddenly developed overnight. I have changed the HDMI cable to no avail.

5 REPLIES 5
tns
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,759
Registered: ‎05-22-2010

Re: HDMI frame loss when set to 1080i output.

Message 2 of 6
(1,170 Views)

In terms of black lines at the top and bottom,  Many programs do this.  If your TV is set to show all 1080 lines you will see them.  Many TV's default to showing less than the whole screen.  In fact until newer HDTV's came out most couldn't show all the picture.  On movies most are never exactly 16x9.  1.85 is particurlarly popular and will have black lines on top and bottom if all the picture is shown. 

Alisongoldfrapp
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-05-2011

Re: HDMI frame loss when set to 1080i output.

Message 3 of 6
(1,168 Views)

@tns wrote:

In terms of black lines at the top and bottom,  Many programs do this.  If your TV is set to show all 1080 lines you will see them.  Many TV's default to showing less than the whole screen.  In fact until newer HDTV's came out most couldn't show all the picture.  On movies most are never exactly 16x9.  1.85 is particurlarly popular and will have black lines on top and bottom if all the picture is shown. 


This is beyond overscan and the black lines vanish when I change resolutions. I forgot to mention the black lines are flickering at the top. And no, I'm sure it's not a VBI.

tns
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,759
Registered: ‎05-22-2010

Re: HDMI frame loss when set to 1080i output.

Message 4 of 6
(1,159 Views)

Exactly the kind of thing you see on some channels.  Often see it during the morning news shows in NY as they hold mutltiple screens overlaying each other and not always the same size.

 

 

Alisongoldfrapp
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-05-2011

Re: HDMI frame loss when set to 1080i output.

Message 5 of 6
(1,155 Views)

Also, just FYI, my TV is not set to do 1-1 pixel mapping and the solid flickering (not a vertical blanking interval line!) black lines appear at the top 20% area of the screen.

Alisongoldfrapp
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎04-05-2011

Re: HDMI frame loss when set to 1080i output.

Message 6 of 6
(1,134 Views)

I just updated the firmware on my TV and it seemed to resolve the problem.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title