Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

How many Tv's on one ONT?

Reply
MaKyKat
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-01-2009

How many Tv's on one ONT?

Message 1 of 6
(8,371 Views)

What is the max number of TV's that I can attach to one ONT? I was told by Customer Service last year (2008) that the max was 7 but that it was likely to increase in 2009. Also, I can't locate anything in the documentation (on-line or paper) that states what the max is.

5 REPLIES 5
KenAF
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008

Re: How many Tv's on one ONT?

Message 2 of 6
(8,359 Views)

Unless something has changed recently, seven is still the max number of FiOS' Motorola STBs and DVRs you can have.  This is a technical limitation with the current version of MoCA, as implemented.  MoCA is the name for ethernet networking over coax, which is how Verizon delivers guide data to its Motorola STBs.

 

There is no limit to the number of QAM digital tuners (for SD and HD locals) or CableCard devices you can have, because those don't rely on MoCA to get their guide data.  Though in the past, it did take some effort to order more than seven CableCards; I'm not sure whether that is still the case.

Message Edited by KenAF on 01-01-2009 12:27 PM
If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
G-Pon
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎12-07-2008

Re: How many Tv's on one ONT?

Message 3 of 6
(8,334 Views)

Good answers KenAf. Thanks! Yes, 7 per ONT/Circut. My cautious nature would say 6 is "recomended" but 7 is possible.

 

Additional accounts could possibly be created to serve a large building or estate thus adding additional ONTs, this is rare and additional time should be added to your planning stage so Verizon could conduct the Engineering study necessary to allocate additional fiber (if available).

 

I am unaware of a limit to non set-top-box outlets other than the CoAx itself, even non MoCa dependent outlets can experience issues over long numerous complex runs of cable, splitters and outlets.

cjacobs001
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 398
Registered: ‎10-09-2008

Re: How many Tv's on one ONT?

Message 4 of 6
(8,272 Views)
so in laymens terms are you saying 7 set top boxes and unlimited digital converters or cable cards??
cjacobs001
KenAF
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 585
Registered: ‎10-22-2008

Re: How many Tv's on one ONT?

Message 5 of 6
(8,263 Views)

@cjacobs001 wrote:
so in laymens terms are you saying 7 set top boxes and unlimited digital converters or cable cards??

Technically speaking, yes.

 

A problem may arise if you get a CSR that doesn't understand the difference between STBs, digital converters, CableCards, etc.  There are some CSRs that believe there is a seven device maximum, regardless of whether they are STBs, DVRs, digital converters, or CableCards.  They don't know that the device limit only applies to the QIP2xxx, QIP6xxx, and QIP7xxx STBs and DVRs.

Message Edited by KenAF on 01-02-2009 04:44 AM
If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it.
Techman28
Gold Contributor IV
Gold Contributor IV
Posts: 1,340
Registered: ‎10-13-2008

Re: How many Tv's on one ONT?

Message 6 of 6
(8,230 Views)

I would like to point out that it is EXTREMELY RARE but you could have unlimited number of boxes  he is what you would need 20 boxes would require 3 Routers on 1 circuit. the routers seem to be only able to handle 7 at a time thus you would need 3 bridges and hubs as I have a diagram of one customer having 40 boxes and working fine....but additional equipment is at the cost of the customer.

 

but the base limit is 7 for the qip boxes. and up to 3 additional digital adapters. I haven't received word on the quam tv tuners. so I'm going to take KenAF's word for it  

Message Edited by Techman28 on 01-02-2009 10:03 AM
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title