Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Installation Issue - Fios TV/Internet

SOLVED
Reply
rckmko
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-01-2016

Installation Issue - Fios TV/Internet

Message 1 of 7
(3,571 Views)

I had Verizon come to install my internet and cable on June 9, 2016.  The technician re-routed the cable and internet to a different outlet not previously used by the cable box or modem.  After re-routing, the technician plugged in the cable box, and when he went to plug the HDM from the cable boxI into the television, the television sparked and shorted out, the cable box shorted out, and the power in the apartment went out. 

 

The next week I had the television repaired by having the internal chip replaced.  The technicians came again and provided a new cable box.  Same thing happened. All shorted, power out, tv destroyed.   

 

I had electricians come to make sure each outlet was grounded properly and they were.  It is NOT an electrical issue. 

 

Has anyone else experienced this problem?  I have a new TV coming this afternoon and do not want to ruin another television.

 

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
rckmko
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-01-2016

Re: Installation Issue - Fios TV/Internet

Message 7 of 7
(3,327 Views)

Problem has been fixed. 

 

The initial installation caused a short in the television that was unable to be reparied.  After purchasing new television there were no further issues. Television was cause. 

 

Thank you!

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 8,010
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: Installation Issue - Fios TV/Internet

Message 2 of 7
(3,540 Views)

Have you ever had anything else plugged in to this TV?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Installation Issue - Fios TV/Internet

Message 3 of 7
(3,509 Views)

Clearly a short somewhere possibly the cable is touching a electric power wire somewhere and does not have effective shielding. possibly it really is the the TV, STB, Router, or ONT.

rckmko
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-01-2016

Re: Installation Issue - Fios TV/Internet

Message 4 of 7
(3,502 Views)

Nothing else was plugged into the television.  Both cable box and TV were plugged into surge protector, which was plugged into the same outlet. 

rckmko
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-01-2016

Re: Installation Issue - Fios TV/Internet

Message 5 of 7
(3,501 Views)

Potentially.  The issue the first time may have been a short in the box and the second time may have been a short in the TV, which may have not been properly repaired.

 

I am going to call the technicians today, and have the original technicians come back to ensure all cable is wired properly. 

 

I will keep the thread updated. 

Telcoguru
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: Installation Issue - Fios TV/Internet

Message 6 of 7
(3,331 Views)

It is either an electrical fault getting into the coax cable or a bad electrical outlet where the hot leg and ground wire are touching. Do not plug anything else in or hook up the coax cable until everything is tested with a voltage detector.

rckmko
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-01-2016

Re: Installation Issue - Fios TV/Internet

Message 7 of 7
(3,328 Views)

Problem has been fixed. 

 

The initial installation caused a short in the television that was unable to be reparied.  After purchasing new television there were no further issues. Television was cause. 

 

Thank you!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title