Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

media manager installed on windows 7

Reply
CBWARDSR
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-27-2010

media manager installed on windows 7

Message 1 of 5
(3,935 Views)

when i try to install this software i get a 2738 error code saying it can't locate the vbscript runtime.

 

please advise how to get aroiund this issue

4 REPLIES 4
GaryDoug
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 402
Registered: ‎07-07-2010

Re: media manager installed on windows 7

Message 2 of 5
(3,882 Views)

I did a Google search for "error 2738 vbscript windows 7" and got many results

This is one of them:

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/linqprojectgeneral/thread/568cb698-9e6e-43a4-87c5-0602...

The poster at the above location instructs you to do the following:

1) Click on Start

 

2) Click on all programs

 

3) Click on Accessories

 

4) Right click on command prompt

 

5) Click on run as administrator

 

6) A black box should pull up and have C:\windows\system32> on it.  Type "cd %systemroot%\system32"  with the space and everything (except the parentheses) and press Enter.

 

7) then type "regsvr32 vbscript.dll" (with space and everything) then Enter.

 

 

Good luck

 

 

brian_g_g
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-02-2010

Re: media manager installed on windows 7

Message 3 of 5
(3,782 Views)

This did not work for me.  I still get the same exact error.  I even tried running the mediamanager.exe as administrator.

 

My Windows Media Player is version 12.  I had Windows Media Player set up to stream files before on a home network from my PS3.  Perhaps there is a setting that I need to change under Library » Stream ...

 

I'll just use my PS3 -- until this gets sorted out.

CBWARDSR
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-27-2010

Re: media manager installed on windows 7

Message 4 of 5
(3,618 Views)

surely there is a solution 4 this product.  i followed the step by step but still get the error

GaryDoug
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 402
Registered: ‎07-07-2010

Re: media manager installed on windows 7

Message 5 of 5
(3,583 Views)

Disclaimer: I am no expert on Windows 7. I just bought a new laptop with Windows 7 recently and have a tiny bit of experience with installation difficulties in that regard. I will attempt to give you some information that may help.

 

Sometime during the installation process, you were probably met with a window having the title "Windows Firewall has blocked some features of this program" and had the option of clicking on a button labeled "Allow access". I left the check box for "Private networks" checked. Did you do this? If not, you may want to try installation again.

 

I just today installed Media Manager on my laptop pc with Windows 7 and had no problems with the installation. It installed and ran just fine with my pictures, videos, and music files available. Using Windows Explorer, I  looked for the file in question (vbscript.dll) and found it in the "c:\windows\system32" folder. If you cannot view the folder contents, that may be at least part of the problem. The file version on my pc is 5.8.7600.16546. You can see the version by right clicking on the file name and choosing properties. it has a date of 3/8/2010 and a file size of 598kb. Apparently this file comes with Windows 7 because I can see it on my wife's desktop pc, which does not have any Verizon installations. On the properties page, click on the Security tab. Mine shows permissions for System (and all Users) of "Read & execute" and "Read" checked; and for Trusted installer all except "Special Permissions" are checked. If these are not the case, especially for System and all Users, you may want to change the permissions.  Warning: changing file permissions may result in program instabilities. I went through fits with this trying to install old Microsoft programs I have and ended up abandoning the main user account and creating a new one, because some Windows 7 applications then did not work properly.

 

Wel that is all I know for now, Good luck.

 

 

 

 

 

 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title