Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

MSNBC has lost sound

Reply
theatrenut
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-26-2015

MSNBC has lost sound

Message 1 of 8
(2,718 Views)

For the second time MSNBC has lost sound in the past couple of weeks. What gives?

7 REPLIES 7
CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 8,010
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: MSNBC has lost sound

Message 2 of 8
(2,683 Views)

All tvs?

SD and HD?

Do you have to do something to make it come back or does it restore on its own?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: MSNBC has lost sound

Message 3 of 8
(2,669 Views)

One of the common problems for HD channels is if your TV doesn't support Dolby digital over the connection you have between the STB and the TV.  Common solution in that case is to find the option in the hidden menu and specify Linear PCM only .

 

For non-quantum ARRIS (motorola) boxes

 

from on, hit power off on stb, then quickly on remote hit ok and menu

on the HDMI screen select additional HDMI settings

move to audio output and change to L-PCM

hit power off then on to get out of screen.

 

Not in front of a quantum box at the moment but it has similar settings somewhere.

PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: MSNBC has lost sound

Message 4 of 8
(2,661 Views)

This issue seems to be related to when a local commercial is inserted into the MSNBC feed.  When the local commercial begins, the audio quits.  When the feed returns after the local commercial ends the sound does not return until the next commercial break when it usually resumes.

PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: MSNBC has lost sound

Message 5 of 8
(2,659 Views)

@tns_2 wrote:

One of the common problems for HD channels is if your TV doesn't support Dolby digital over the connection you have between the STB and the TV.  Common solution in that case is to find the option in the hidden menu and specify Linear PCM only .

 

For non-quantum ARRIS (motorola) boxes

 

from on, hit power off on stb, then quickly on remote hit ok and menu

on the HDMI screen select additional HDMI settings

move to audio output and change to L-PCM

hit power off then on to get out of screen.

 

Not in front of a quantum box at the moment but it has similar settings somewhere.


Sorry, but if the OP loses only sound on one HD channel (which is what they reported) then the issue is not the audio setting in the hidden STB menu.  It's something else, and I see it occasionally too.

tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: MSNBC has lost sound

Message 6 of 8
(2,646 Views)

Some users stick to only certain channels and so never see the condition I mentioned.  But of course it may not be his problem.

 

I have seen some channels temporarily lose sound, but usually pausing and restarting the channel fixes it.  I haven't even seen that recently.  My Tv's do support Dolby Digital.

Really1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-11-2020

Re: MSNBC has lost sound

Message 7 of 8
(1,572 Views)

On 6/10/2020 and today, 6/11/2020, there is no audio on MSNBC. No other channel on FIOS that I can find has a problem. What gives? When will this be fixed?

LawrenceC
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,703
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

Re: MSNBC has lost sound

Message 8 of 8
(1,549 Views)

As this thread is now over five years old, it will be locked in order to keep discussions current. If you have the same or a similar question/issue we invite you to start a new thread on the topic.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title