Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

New Non-Verizon DVR, does it requirew new Cable Card?

Reply
Pete7552
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-25-2010

New Non-Verizon DVR, does it requirew new Cable Card?

Message 1 of 6
(1,306 Views)

I am going from a new non-verizon dvr (moxi) to another non-verizon dvr (tivo)  Will need to replace my cable card?

 

The verizon fios store didn't know and all they could do is refer me to tech support. 

 

Has anyone gone through this previously?

 

Thanks

 

Peter

5 REPLIES 5
Telcoguru
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,796
Registered: ‎08-06-2008

Re: New Non-Verizon DVR, does it requirew new Cable Card?

Message 2 of 6
(1,300 Views)

The card card will need to be reactivated with the Tivo.

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: New Non-Verizon DVR, does it requirew new Cable Card?

Message 3 of 6
(1,288 Views)

I have gone from device to device with multiple cable cards. Why the upfront cost of Tivo? Get Quantum TV Available everywhere, very very soon.

 

1. The device will need to be unpaired from the Moxi and paired to the TiVo.

 

2. It can be done regardless of what you may be told by someone.

 

3. I have gone from Tivo to a PC Tuner PCIe card and other network devices, with a few troubles.

 

4. You must find someone at Verizon that knows how to perform the task, and is experience with the cable card system. I had been told the TiVO card was bad and needed replacement, along with a new card I had just received. A tech came out and was done in minutes.

 

5. My understanding, they have two tools to perform the task, not all know how to use both tools. It is like tier one, and tier two support. At times the call must be escalated.

 

5. I had to switch tuners due to a defect, and it took the assistance from the support group in Texas, as the one on the phone had troubles.

 

6. IF IT WORKS IN ONE DEVICE IT WILL WORK IN ANOTHER!

 

Why would you want a TiVo? I just received the new Verizon Quantum TV VMS-1100 Server with six tuners, and three IPC-1100 Clients. If I had the situation where all devices were in use at the same time, there could be tuner conflicts with scheduled programs, but then you could have two of the servers and 12 tuners, The picture is stunning. Tivo you own it, and if it breaks, you pay. There are pros and cons of both the cable card world and the new Verizon, I have had Verizon DVRs and STBs, TiVo, and Media Center Devices, and surprisingly the new Quantum TV beats them all in my book, for picture quality and some of the features that I had lost with the cable card only system. Though there are things I can do with a Home Theater PC, and could not wait for the Verizon system of new hardware. But the new Verizon VMS system is new, and I would imagine it will only grow in it's abilities. For me, I picture home theater PC devices next to some Verizon hardware, and that is because I have the hardware. Nice uATX PCs I build run quiet and fast. But only because I wanted features like the VMS offered, that I saw first hand at the Las Vegas Consumer Electronics Show in 2013 with Verizon. I believe it was worth the wait. Had hand on in Vegas in Jan. 13, now in my house May 2014. 16 months wait, and now in my house. It looks like Motorola may have sold or or split the STB/DVR group as these are not Labeled Motorola. I have cable cards I am returning.

 

Good luck in whatever chou\ices you make. I have had them all, and moving beck to Verizon.

Pete7552
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-25-2010

Re: New Non-Verizon DVR, does it requirew new Cable Card?

Message 4 of 6
(1,199 Views)

Quantum TV is not available in my area yet.   Besides, I am not sure I want to deal witht eh Verizon interface.  

 

At least with Tivo, I could switch to Comcast and not have to deal with a new interrface.

 

Peter

tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: New Non-Verizon DVR, does it requirew new Cable Card?

Message 5 of 6
(1,196 Views)

@Pete7552 wrote:

Quantum TV is not available in my area yet.   Besides, I am not sure I want to deal witht eh Verizon interface.  

 

At least with Tivo, I could switch to Comcast and not have to deal with a new interrface.

 

Peter


Quantum should now be available in your area.  But of course its your choice if you prefer to use Tivo.

sangs
Silver Contributor IV
Silver Contributor IV
Posts: 526
Registered: ‎06-24-2010

Re: New Non-Verizon DVR, does it requirew new Cable Card?

Message 6 of 6
(1,176 Views)

Well it also depends if the cable card you already have is a multistream card. FiOS has been distrubting newer cable cards for a little while now, ones that will work in the four-tuner and six-tuner Tivos. If you don't have that type of card, it won't work correctly, even if you do successfully pair it with the Tivo. Your best bet is going to a FiOS store - if you have one nearby.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title