Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

No HDMI, Replaced cords and cable box.

SOLVED
Reply
yus21
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-27-2021

No HDMI, Replaced cords and cable box.

Message 1 of 11
(2,373 Views)

Hi,

My Westington tv turned off suddenly yesterday and gave the message, no hdmi. Verizon sent a new cable box which did not help. I called again and they said I need to select the hdmi option from the tv. I don't have the remove for the tv but used the tv side panel buttons to select hdmi. Verizon said I'm not actually selecting it, it's just being highlighted but not actually selected - huh?

We use the xbox and the power cable stopped working too. I got a new one, but having the same problems. It turns on for a few seconds then turns off on its own.

I'm trying to get someone to come out because I don't know what else to do.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
dexman
Gold Contributor I Gold Contributor I
Gold Contributor I
Posts: 706
Registered: ‎06-10-2012

Re: No HDMI, Replaced cords and cable box.

Message 5 of 11
(2,290 Views)

Both Clem53 & I suspect that the television is the cause of the trouble.

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
clem53
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,913
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: No HDMI, Replaced cords and cable box.

Message 2 of 11
(2,333 Views)

@yus21 wrote:

Hi,

My Westington tv turned off suddenly yesterday and gave the message, no hdmi. Verizon sent a new cable box which did not help. I called again and they said I need to select the hdmi option from the tv. I don't have the remove for the tv but used the tv side panel buttons to select hdmi. Verizon said I'm not actually selecting it, it's just being highlighted but not actually selected - huh?

We use the xbox and the power cable stopped working too. I got a new one, but having the same problems. It turns on for a few seconds then turns off on its own.

I'm trying to get someone to come out because I don't know what else to do.


So both the Fios box and the X-box stopped working at the same time? Did you try programming the Fios remote to control your TV? Sounds like a problem with the TV if both HDMI sources are not working. Did you try changing the input on the TV for the Fios box? Unplug the power for the Fios box, Unplug power for the TV, then unplug the HDMI cable going from the Fios box to the TV. After at least 3 minutes power the TV up, then the Fios box then plug the HDMI from the Fios box to the TV back in. Once you select that input on the TV you should have a picture.

dexman
Gold Contributor I Gold Contributor I
Gold Contributor I
Posts: 706
Registered: ‎06-10-2012

Re: No HDMI, Replaced cords and cable box.

Message 3 of 11
(2,332 Views)

I'm a bit unclear on the description of the trouble.

 

Your Westinghouse television stopped seeing the signal to the HDMI jack.

 

Verizon sent a new box, but that didn't resolve the problem.

 

You also have an Xbox and the TV doesn't see it.

 

Using on board buttons, the HDMI input is selected, but, that doesn't fix the problem.

 

If this is accurate, is it possible that the television is malfunctioning? Three different devices (two STBs and an Xbox) are not being detected by the television.

yus21
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-27-2021

Re: No HDMI, Replaced cords and cable box.

Message 4 of 11
(2,275 Views)

Yes, that is an accurate description of the problem.

dexman
Gold Contributor I Gold Contributor I
Gold Contributor I
Posts: 706
Registered: ‎06-10-2012

Re: No HDMI, Replaced cords and cable box.

Message 5 of 11
(2,291 Views)

Both Clem53 & I suspect that the television is the cause of the trouble.

yus21
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-27-2021

Re: No HDMI, Replaced cords and cable box.

Message 6 of 11
(2,271 Views)

Hi,

Thank you. The fios remote was already programmed to work with the tv. Is there something else I should try with the remote at this point, if it was already working with it before the tv went out?

I have cycled through all the input options using the tv side panel buttons and all are not detected.

I am trying what you suggested. But there is no hdmi going from fios box to tv. The hdmi cords go from fios box to xbox, and another one goes from xbox to the tv. I tried unplugging power from fios box, tv, and xbox, then unplugging both of the hdmi cords at both end and waiting 3 minutes. I turned the tv on, on the hdmi input and still go "hdmi no signal".

gs0b
Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 2,124
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: No HDMI, Replaced cords and cable box.

Message 7 of 11
(2,269 Views)

Plug the HDMI cable from the fios box directly into the TV.  Take the XBOX out of the signal path.  This will tell you if you have a problem with the XBOX.

The key is to test as few components at a time as possible. Start with the simple stuff, like making sure power is plugged in and HDMI cable are seated.  You'd be amazed how often issues turn out to be simple problems because people focus on the most complex things first.  If a test works, add more stuff back in the signal loop until you see what causes the failure.  Make sure  you try different cables, too, as sometimes they fail.

 

yus21
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-27-2021

Re: No HDMI, Replaced cords and cable box.

Message 8 of 11
(2,253 Views)

Hi, gs0b:

I just tried this. I followed prompts for programming of the remote for the tv. Then on the tv screen it said "signal was detected and an automatic switch to hdmi was made". Then the "hdmi no signal" message appeared on the tv screen. Then the screen flashed white several times, the verizon logo came on and the screen said "please wait", and then it said "press any key to watch tv". Then the programming page came up again, so I went through that cycle once more. The channel I went to was "not available", so it was checking for black outs (there are none), and the screen said to tighten the coax cable on the back of the set top box. It was already very secure upon checking. It tried reauthorizing teh channel with no luck, and is now telling me to reboot the set top box. I pressed the prompt for that, and the "hdmi no signal" flashed on the tv screen. The verizone please wait screen came up --> press any key to watch tv. I did this, and lo and behold the tv finally came on!! Whew. Thanks for your help with this. Now, I'm not sure what's going on with the xbox. But I figure I will reconnect that and see if it works still. If not, maybe the xbox itself has malfunctioned or completely died. Any advice how to proceed next? Wish I could tell for sure what's going on with the xbox.

gs0b
Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 2,124
Registered: ‎12-02-2012

Re: No HDMI, Replaced cords and cable box.

Message 9 of 11
(2,217 Views)

How many HDMI inputs does your TV have?

 

Does the TV auto sense signals on various inputs and try to switch to the "right" one?  If so, that can add to the confusion.  See if you can find an option in the TV's menu to turn this "feature" off.

 

XBOXs do support HDMI signal pass-through, however there can be issues with it.  From your OP, it sounds like the XBOX's power supply is malfunctioning, which will absolutely cause problems with HDMI pass-through.

 

If your TV has multiple HDMI inputs, the best solution is to put the XBOX and the fios box on different inputs and then choose which one you want to watch using the TV's remote.

yus21
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-27-2021

Re: No HDMI, Replaced cords and cable box.

Message 10 of 11
(2,194 Views)

The TV only has one HDMI input. 

I did replace the power supply (power bricks) twice yesterday and neither has solved the issue. 

Currently, with the xbox totally disconnected from TV/cable box, I turned on the xbox and it's doing the same  thing even with new power brick - stays on for 20 seconds while beeping, while power brick shows a green light, then shuts down and light goes back to orange.

I went to the TV's menu and turned "autosource" off. I'm guessing that it what you are talking about, but it's still shutting off.

Too bad there are not more HDMI inputs to use.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title