Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

not ready for digital change in 09

Reply
lee
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-04-2008

not ready for digital change in 09

Message 1 of 9
(8,152 Views)
a television station in my area, Wash., DC, ran a test for people to see if their tvs are ready for the digital switch.  even with my stb my tv didn't work.
8 REPLIES 8
CharlesH
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008

Re: not ready for digital change in 09

Message 2 of 9
(8,148 Views)

Your TV really has nothing to do with it, for more information check out http://www.dtv.gov/

Message Edited by CharlesH on 12-04-2008 08:15 PM
matcarl
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,426
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: not ready for digital change in 09

Message 3 of 9
(8,115 Views)

lee: I don't know what you were looking at, but if you have Fios you don't have to worry, it's only for TV's hooked up with antennas.

Charles H: Your TV has nothing to do with it? I guess you phrased that wrong, LOL. You probably meant to say Fios has nothing to do with it.

Message Edited by matcarl on 12-04-2008 09:24 PM
Message Edited by matcarl on 12-04-2008 09:25 PM
Message Edited by matcarl on 12-04-2008 09:27 PM
TimSykes
Gold Contributor III
Gold Contributor III
Posts: 1,059
Registered: ‎10-21-2008

Re: not ready for digital change in 09

Message 4 of 9
(8,084 Views)
Anyone one that uses a set top box on any provider has no worries about the change over.
CharlesH
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 895
Registered: ‎12-01-2008

Re: not ready for digital change in 09

Message 5 of 9
(8,035 Views)

haha, you know what I mean.

pnrobin
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-11-2008

Re: not ready for digital change in 09

Message 6 of 9
(7,936 Views)

Surely what you all meant to say here (and if you didn't then I am worried) was:

 

The channel test failed because FIOS is still pulling the feed from the provider in an analog format.  The signal FIOS receives from this station will, sometime before Feb 09, switch to a digital source so that you will not loose your channels come the revolution.

 

The change to digital will be seamless to you.  Nothing will change with the FIOS delivery to you, only the delivery of analog signals to the FIOS re-distribution centre.

 

 

 

 

matcarl
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 1,426
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: not ready for digital change in 09

Message 7 of 9
(7,920 Views)
The test did not fail due to Fios, we do not know the OP's setup. It had nothing to do with Fios.
TheSanchez
Silver Contributor I
Silver Contributor I
Posts: 218
Registered: ‎11-01-2008

Re: not ready for digital change in 09

Message 8 of 9
(7,843 Views)

No the tests do not fail due to FiOS.  In the upcoming months preceeding the deb 2009 switch you will notice a lot of other channels doing these types of tests.  Some will range from complete blackouts to a scrolling banner at the bottom of your screen. 

 

TS

TheSanchez
Verizon Telecom
Verizon Content Management Center




Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supercede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or Plan.

lee
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-04-2008

Re: not ready for digital change in 09

Message 9 of 9
(7,649 Views)

Thanks. Hopefully, I'm ready (well my TVs are).  One question more.  On the second test, a week later, I had all of my TVs on and none received the news broadcast I was watching, all with a message about the switch.  I was supposed to have seen the news broadcast, not the message.  

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title