Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Odd TV signal issue

SOLVED
Reply
Metsno1fan
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-16-2021

Odd TV signal issue

Message 1 of 12
(2,775 Views)

So, I should preface this by saying I've had Fios since 2012. I had no issues with SNYHD (ch 577) or YESHD (ch 576) until sometime in the middle of March of last year. 

I noticed SNYHD wasn't coming in, the picture was broken up and the sound was garbled, same with YESHD. Both SD channels worked fine. I called the tech support and they sent someone out. They replaced the ONT and Cable Boxes, and even ran a new Coax directly to the new box, nothing worked and he was stumped. Next day he came back with another guy, more trial and error, but no results. Measured signals, moved boxes, nothing. Then the pandemic and baseball was canceled so I forgot about it.

 

Then in July, out of nowhere everything worked again, and did so flawlessly until

November or so, when both channels went out again. Fios has stated both channels are on the same frequency, and they are the only two channels on that particular frequency. Has anyone heard of anything like this? Everyone I talk to at Verizon, including the techs, are stumped. Has anyone heard of this? Spring Training starts up next week, so I need to get this fixed ASAP. 

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Metsno1fan
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-16-2021

Re: Odd TV signal issue

Message 10 of 12
(1,542 Views)

Hey,

So the problem ended up being the placement of the ONT.  Quick backstory: I had the original backup battery ONT until it died in 2020. They replaced it with the newer version of the ONT in the same spot, and then I noticed the issue a month or two after. Anyway, long story short after driving several techs nuts trying to figure out the issue, the last guy I had moved the new box about 2' further away from my electrical panel and it worked! I guess the new panels are more susceptible to interference and that was the issue. So maybe try unbolting in from the wall and moving it around while it's plugged in to see if that fixes it. Goodluck!

View solution in original post

11 REPLIES 11
clem53
Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 1,960
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Odd TV signal issue

Message 2 of 12
(2,693 Views)

@Metsno1fan wrote:

So, I should preface this by saying I've had Fios since 2012. I had no issues with SNYHD (ch 577) or YESHD (ch 576) until sometime in the middle of March of last year. 

I noticed SNYHD wasn't coming in, the picture was broken up and the sound was garbled, same with YESHD. Both SD channels worked fine. I called the tech support and they sent someone out. They replaced the ONT and Cable Boxes, and even ran a new Coax directly to the new box, nothing worked and he was stumped. Next day he came back with another guy, more trial and error, but no results. Measured signals, moved boxes, nothing. Then the pandemic and baseball was canceled so I forgot about it.

 

Then in July, out of nowhere everything worked again, and did so flawlessly until

November or so, when both channels went out again. Fios has stated both channels are on the same frequency, and they are the only two channels on that particular frequency. Has anyone heard of anything like this? Everyone I talk to at Verizon, including the techs, are stumped. Has anyone heard of this? Spring Training starts up next week, so I need to get this fixed ASAP. 

Thanks!


When tuned to one of the problem stations, go to: Menu>settings>system information, hit the info key, look at the SNR and error counts and see if either isn't in the good range. If they are bad, it is an equipment problem. If good, its a transmission problem.

Metsno1fan
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-16-2021

Re: Odd TV signal issue

Message 3 of 12
(2,684 Views)

Ok so this is what I'm getting:

SNR Level: -error-

SNR Value: error DB

Frequency: error MHZ

Short term Error Count: 0

Carrirer Lock: true

 

But my question is, if its an equipment issue:The ONT was replaced, the boxes were replaced, and the tech ran a home run to new box from the ONT, and nothing fixed it.. what else is there to be replaced? Except of course when it fixed itself for no reason whatsover for a few months.

clem53
Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 1,960
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Odd TV signal issue

Message 4 of 12
(2,661 Views)

@Metsno1fan wrote:

Ok so this is what I'm getting:

SNR Level: -error-

SNR Value: error DB

Frequency: error MHZ

Short term Error Count: 0

Carrirer Lock: true

 

But my question is, if its an equipment issue:The ONT was replaced, the boxes were replaced, and the tech ran a home run to new box from the ONT, and nothing fixed it.. what else is there to be replaced? Except of course when it fixed itself for no reason whatsover for a few months.


There is no signal getting to your VMS box for some reason. Can you try another cable going direct from the ONT to your VMS box and see if it works? You won't get guide data but you should get a picture and audio. If that works, there is a bad cable between the ONT and the VMS. Where is the splitter in this situation? There should be one between the ONT and VMS and the router.

Metsno1fan
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-16-2021

Re: Odd TV signal issue

Message 5 of 12
(2,630 Views)

@clem53 wrote:

@Metsno1fan wrote:

Ok so this is what I'm getting:

SNR Level: -error-

SNR Value: error DB

Frequency: error MHZ

Short term Error Count: 0

Carrirer Lock: true

 

But my question is, if its an equipment issue:The ONT was replaced, the boxes were replaced, and the tech ran a home run to new box from the ONT, and nothing fixed it.. what else is there to be replaced? Except of course when it fixed itself for no reason whatsover for a few months.


There is no signal getting to your VMS box for some reason. Can you try another cable going direct from the ONT to your VMS box and see if it works? You won't get guide data but you should get a picture and audio. If that works, there is a bad cable between the ONT and the VMS. Where is the splitter in this situation? There should be one between the ONT and VMS and the router.


Just tried that with a cable the Verizon tech left last time. Picture was slightly better but still unwatchable. It listed both channels' frequency as 639MHz after and they appear to be the only two channels on that frequency.  I have also noticed extremely slow internet speeds in my house.. 30-70mb/s despite having a gigabit connection in a relatively small house. Not sure if that is somehow related?

 

I have a 12" coax between the ONT and a 3-way splitter to the router and cable boxes. Verizon even replaced that last time when they were trying to troubleshoot. I appreciate the help though!

clem53
Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 1,960
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Odd TV signal issue

Message 6 of 12
(2,557 Views)

@Metsno1fan wrote:

@clem53 wrote:

@Metsno1fan wrote:

Ok so this is what I'm getting:

SNR Level: -error-

SNR Value: error DB

Frequency: error MHZ

Short term Error Count: 0

Carrirer Lock: true

 

But my question is, if its an equipment issue:The ONT was replaced, the boxes were replaced, and the tech ran a home run to new box from the ONT, and nothing fixed it.. what else is there to be replaced? Except of course when it fixed itself for no reason whatsover for a few months.


There is no signal getting to your VMS box for some reason. Can you try another cable going direct from the ONT to your VMS box and see if it works? You won't get guide data but you should get a picture and audio. If that works, there is a bad cable between the ONT and the VMS. Where is the splitter in this situation? There should be one between the ONT and VMS and the router.


Just tried that with a cable the Verizon tech left last time. Picture was slightly better but still unwatchable. It listed both channels' frequency as 639MHz after and they appear to be the only two channels on that frequency.  I have also noticed extremely slow internet speeds in my house.. 30-70mb/s despite having a gigabit connection in a relatively small house. Not sure if that is somehow related?

 

I have a 12" coax between the ONT and a 3-way splitter to the router and cable boxes. Verizon even replaced that last time when they were trying to troubleshoot. I appreciate the help though!


Did they replace the splitter with a MocA 2.0 certified splitter?

Did you run the speed test wired to a device capable of Gigabit speeds?

If so, you have a bigger issue that the tech didn't address. Wired to the router, running the Fios speed test you should get 900+Mbps for the speed at the router.

https://www.verizon.com/speedtest/

Have you powercycled your router lately?

 

Metsno1fan
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-16-2021

Re: Odd TV signal issue

Message 7 of 12
(2,469 Views)

Okay, so wired connection to my laptop is not getting above 420 mb/s download and 720 mb/s upload. Splitter is a Moca 2.0. 

I tested the SNY signal again and it goes back and forth now from 'Fair' and an SNR of 34.7 (with the picture still breaking up a bit) to an SNR of 0 with the picture freezing for about 15 seconds.

clem53
Platinum Contributor I Platinum Contributor I
Platinum Contributor I
Posts: 1,960
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Odd TV signal issue

Message 8 of 12
(2,466 Views)

@Metsno1fan wrote:

Okay, so wired connection to my laptop is not getting above 420 mb/s download and 720 mb/s upload. Splitter is a Moca 2.0. 

I tested the SNY signal again and it goes back and forth now from 'Fair' and an SNR of 34.7 (with the picture still breaking up a bit) to an SNR of 0 with the picture freezing for about 15 seconds.


You need to get someone else out there to check your equipment. Maybe a fiber issue, Maybe a flaky ONT, Something is DEFINITELY not right with your system.

Try here:

Contact Support.jpg

EastSideMetsFan
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-03-2022

Re: Odd TV signal issue

Message 9 of 12
(1,554 Views)

I just stumbled up on this thread -- I've been having the same problem (some last year and definitely this year).  Just ordered new set top boxes to install and see if that helps.  Wondering if @Metsno1fan ever found resolution to the problem?  Thanks!

Metsno1fan
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-16-2021

Re: Odd TV signal issue

Message 10 of 12
(1,543 Views)

Hey,

So the problem ended up being the placement of the ONT.  Quick backstory: I had the original backup battery ONT until it died in 2020. They replaced it with the newer version of the ONT in the same spot, and then I noticed the issue a month or two after. Anyway, long story short after driving several techs nuts trying to figure out the issue, the last guy I had moved the new box about 2' further away from my electrical panel and it worked! I guess the new panels are more susceptible to interference and that was the issue. So maybe try unbolting in from the wall and moving it around while it's plugged in to see if that fixes it. Goodluck!

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title