Phantom DVR, not available?
keith111
Enthusiast - Level 3

After 17 years with Comcast, I'm new to FIOS and love it!!  I have a small issue and need some guidance on how to fix it.

On installation day, the tech installed 1 DVR, however it failed repeatedly during the setup procedure.  He believed it may have been a bad box, so he installed a replacement DVR, and the installation was successful. Via the web, on the MyDVR control page (Manage Button), I immediately get an error.

"We are having trouble communicating to your Set Top Box.
We've encountered a problem connecting to your Set Top Box.
Please try again in a few minutes."

Keep in mind, I have 1 single DVR in my home.  But when I close the error box, and it defaults to an unknown device name which appears to be a MAC address.  I'm assuming this could be the original box that failed during the installation procedure. 

When I click on it, a pull down menu appears and I select "Living Room" box, then everything works fine.  I can't seem to locate where I can delete the device with the MAC address name which appears to be causing the error, it's a phantom device.

So far, I've reset the router, then reset the DVR box.  I also ran through a bunch of help screens, and through the Verizon Help software trouble shooting process. I've got to be missing something simple.How do I delete the phantom DVR?

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Phantom DVR, not available?
keith111
Enthusiast - Level 3

I've inadvertently unraveled a part of the mystery.  I use Firefox, the latest is v20.0.1.  Tonight, I loaded up Chrome Version 27.0.1453.65 beta-m and I can see everything, no errors, and I have no idea why.