Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

poor picture quality - Verizon says "sorry"

Reply
speonjosh
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-30-2009

poor picture quality - Verizon says "sorry"

Message 1 of 11
(9,166 Views)

So I got the triple play installed about a month ago.

 

I was disappointed with the picture quality from the start. Finally, I figured out how to switch back and forth between FIOS and my still installed antenna by just pushing one button on the tv itself (Samsung PN42A450P). My worst fears were confirmed. The picture is substantially worse than what comes over the air. Yes, I'm comparing apples to apples - put same channel on both FIOS and on the television, switch back and forth. Substantial difference in both HD and regular programming.

 

So I called Verizon. FIrst time, the guy says oh maybe you need coax cables, maybe in your case HDMI not better solution. He sent me cables, I installed - no help.

 

Second time I called, they said there was nothing else they could do.

 

HELP!

 

Yes, FIOS gives me waaaay more channels and doesn't flicker in and out like the antenna does during thunderstorms and the like. But a better picture is what Verizon advertizes. "Razor sharp" I think is what I have seen. I still believe it is possible. What else can I try?

10 REPLIES 10
sgip2000
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎06-11-2009

Re: poor picture quality - Verizon says "sorry"

Message 2 of 11
(9,131 Views)

I'm convinced that if you're having a quality problem, it's probably the box. 

 

I have a TivoHD and 2 TV's with digital tuners and both all receive a great picture on HD channels.

 

Most cable companies compress their signals more than Verizon so, you probably won't do any better as far as signal quality.

Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: poor picture quality - Verizon says "sorry"

Message 3 of 11
(9,121 Views)

speonjosh,

 

Nobody is going to be able to give you any real help without more information. So:

 

1) What type of set top box (STB) from Verizon do you have (model)?

 

2) How is the STB (currently) connected to the TV (directly or through audio/video receiver, HDMI, component, cable, etc)? What other connections have you tried?

 

3) What settings do you have in the STB for your Video Settings in the Menu?

 

4) Anything else you can think of to tell us more about how you have everything set up?

 

I suggest we start with the above info and perhaps someone can help. From your post it sounds like you are (or were?) using HDMI cables but I can't be sure. And your reference to coax is confusing, you will never, ever get HD picture quality with coax between the STB and the TV.

 

I have had FiOS TV for almost 4 years with a Sony LCD HDTV and a QIP 6416 DVR and the HD picutre is superb and the SD picture is good to very good, so I think there must be something wrong with your setup.

 

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP6416, IMG 1.6.2, Build 08.58
Keller, TX 76248  

speonjosh
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-30-2009

Re: poor picture quality - Verizon says "sorry"

Message 4 of 11
(9,113 Views)

1. It's the Motorola 7100.

2. Currently using HDMI cables.

3. Sorry, I meant to say "component" cables. Not coax. To recap - had HDMI from start. Unhappy with picture quality, so called Verizon. They sent me component cables. No improvement. I can't believe there is no way to make this picture better, especially since it is substantially worse than simply using an antenna.

4. What specific settings would be of interest? However, I've tried playing with the basic STB settings - changing from 740 to 1080, etc. No noticeable difference between the two. Have tried multiple variations using the television menu. Minor help, but nothing significant.

5. I read elsewhere that perhaps it's a handshake issue between the STB and my television and I should unplug the TV for a bit? Does that make sense?

 

 

I will be greatly appreciative if anyone can help.

 

 

VZ_Brian
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎07-16-2009

Re: poor picture quality - Verizon says "sorry"

Message 5 of 11
(9,068 Views)

Hello there.  Is this the only TV that you have hooked up to a Verizon set top box?  Feel free to send me a direct message (click on my icon>send this user private message) with any of your account info, and I will run some tests from here to help diagnose.  The good news is, if you are getting poor picture quality but your equipment is ok, then it is something that can be fixed. 

Brian K
Verizon Telecom
Fiber Solution Center


Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supercede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or Plan.

speonjosh
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-30-2009

Re: poor picture quality - Verizon says "sorry"

Message 6 of 11
(9,043 Views)

Clicking on your icon takes me to a page with your information. I don't see anything about "send this user a private message" I'd be happy to do so if I could figure out how to. Any other suggestions?

 

 

Keyboards
Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,323
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: poor picture quality - Verizon says "sorry"

Message 7 of 11
(9,004 Views)

 


@speonjosh wrote:

Clicking on your icon takes me to a page with your information. I don't see anything about "send this user a private message" I'd be happy to do so if I could figure out how to. Any other suggestions?

 

 


 

Try looking on the right hand side of the page under CONTACT.  There should be a link for  "Send this user a private message" (right above "add FIOSTechBrian to freinds").

 

If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
VZ_Brian
Employee Emeritus Employee Emeritus
Employee Emeritus
Posts: 141
Registered: ‎07-16-2009

Re: poor picture quality - Verizon says "sorry"

Message 8 of 11
(8,999 Views)

Ok, well I just looked into your account, and I have some good news.  High Definition programming was never downloaded to your Verizon set top box.  That is why you are not getting a quality picture, you are viewing standard definition instead of high definition.  I am working to get that resolved for you. 

Brian K
Verizon Telecom
Fiber Solution Center


Notice: Content posted by Verizon employees is meant to be informational and does not supercede or change the Verizon Forums User Guidelines or Terms or Service, or your Customer Agreement Terms and Conditions or Plan.

speonjosh
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-30-2009

Re: poor picture quality - Verizon says "sorry"

Message 9 of 11
(8,989 Views)

This is great. Amazing and very puzzling that neither of the two people I spoke to on the phone about this noticed. But great.

 

What will I need to do on my end?

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: poor picture quality - Verizon says "sorry"

Message 10 of 11
(8,935 Views)

One other thing that I may add, is if you are looking at the HD and SD programming from the Antenna on say channels 4,5,7, or 9 for local channels. The Local channels with the same numbers on Verizon could be considerably less quality. This is because the broadcast digital may be in higher resolution than the SD channels on Verizon at the same channel number. HD channels for locals start at say 504, 505, 507, or 509 for example. Just a thought. Like Brain said if your HD is not enabled you may not be able to tune these channel numbers, or get the HD quality. My HD is "Stunning".

 

Good luck and enjoy.

 

PS. It seams as though all the top notch techs are here in the forums, and they notice alot.Smiley Wink

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title