Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

PROGRAMMING P 265 REMOTE

SOLVED
Reply
greenflash2
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-19-2013

PROGRAMMING P 265 REMOTE

Message 1 of 6
(3,882 Views)

we had fios tv set up on monday and i told the tech we had a new tv on the way and i would be switching to it. he programmed the remote to the old set and everythong worked great. i set up the new tv today. it works fine, except i cannot use the a/v button to access and select our dvd or html for roku. these previously worked when they were programmed on monday. i just need to know how to program this function. online chat with mohammed didn't fix the problem. we have the standard set top box, not the dvr.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
lacticacidtrip
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 381
Registered: ‎10-23-2008

Re: PROGRAMMING P 265 REMOTE

Message 2 of 6
(3,871 Views)

The instructions for how to program remotes can be found here:

 

https://www22.verizon.com/ForYourHome/VZRepair/vziha/Service.aspx?ihaweb=WebRemoteSetup

 

There are two pages for programming the P265; one standard and the other if the first does not work. If neither work, you can try the Key Fix listed below. No guarantees, but at least a few possibilities. Good luck!

 

Key Fix


If your remote control is programmed for your TV, but the <VOL>, <Mute>, or the <A/V> keys do not work correctly, then you can try using the Key Fix feature to fix the buttons.


1. Press and hold the OK and * buttons simultaneously. • The Red LED will blink twice and then stay on.
2. Press and hold the key that does not work correctly. The remote control will try a new code every second.
3. Once the TV responds correctly, release the button.
4. Press OK to save the current settings and finish programming your remote control.


Find this post helpful, informative or just something you agree with? Click the red ‘thumbs-up’ button.
Did this post solve your problem? Click the green ‘Accept as Solution’ button.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
lacticacidtrip
Silver Contributor III
Silver Contributor III
Posts: 381
Registered: ‎10-23-2008

Re: PROGRAMMING P 265 REMOTE

Message 2 of 6
(3,872 Views)

The instructions for how to program remotes can be found here:

 

https://www22.verizon.com/ForYourHome/VZRepair/vziha/Service.aspx?ihaweb=WebRemoteSetup

 

There are two pages for programming the P265; one standard and the other if the first does not work. If neither work, you can try the Key Fix listed below. No guarantees, but at least a few possibilities. Good luck!

 

Key Fix


If your remote control is programmed for your TV, but the <VOL>, <Mute>, or the <A/V> keys do not work correctly, then you can try using the Key Fix feature to fix the buttons.


1. Press and hold the OK and * buttons simultaneously. • The Red LED will blink twice and then stay on.
2. Press and hold the key that does not work correctly. The remote control will try a new code every second.
3. Once the TV responds correctly, release the button.
4. Press OK to save the current settings and finish programming your remote control.


Find this post helpful, informative or just something you agree with? Click the red ‘thumbs-up’ button.
Did this post solve your problem? Click the green ‘Accept as Solution’ button.

greenflash2
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-19-2013

Re: PROGRAMMING P 265 REMOTE

Message 3 of 6
(3,854 Views)

problem resolved. thank you very much!

ehart4040
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-18-2015

Re: PROGRAMMING P 265 REMOTE

Message 4 of 6
(3,174 Views)

Thanks                      , this fixed my problem: could not get volume and mute to work till now.

 

Your post says I "can not give Kudos to this post"  ???  and I don't see a green ‘Accept as Solution’ button,

 

This is my first reply on this community - maybe I don't know how to use it?

 

Paisano349
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-30-2022

Re: PROGRAMMING P 265 REMOTE

Message 5 of 6
(434 Views)

I've been trying (off & on) for years to fix this problem. My mute button did not work at all and my A/V (TV Input) button "worked" only to mute TV, but would not work to change the input. Your FIX worked for us. Thank you so much! 

LawrenceC
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,889
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

Re: PROGRAMMING P 265 REMOTE

Message 6 of 6
(430 Views)

As this thread is now over two years old, it will be locked in order to keep discussions current. If you have the same or a similar question/issue we invite you to start a new thread on the topic.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title