question for Samsung smart tv users
avemaria92
Contributor - Level 1

I'm still new to the 21st century and was reading about the Fios app, which according to the description allows us to view Fios without a set top box if we have a Samsung smart tv with smart hub (which I do).. I hard wired my bedroom TV to the Fios 'network' but am still having trouble getting it working.. is it true we can run a TV without a box this way?  if not, what are they talking about?

for reference here is the description

Verizon FiOS TV

Verizon continues to expand the borderless lifestyle! FiOS customers subscribing to FiOS TV and FiOS Internet can stream FiOS TV channels and view commercial movies through select devices. This app allows you to enjoy FiOS TV without the need for an additional set top box.
Download this FREE app from your device by visiting the manufacturer’s app store.

Supported Devices:
  • xBox – xBox 360 and xBox One Game consoles.
  • Samsung – Samsung Smart TV or Smart Blu-ray player with the Samsung Smart Hub.
0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: question for Samsung smart tv users
CRobGauth
Community Leader
Community Leader

Couple of comments:

1) FIOS App has been pulled from some Samsung devices due to a software issue.

2) You can only watch some channels (not all are on the Samsung APP).

3) What type of problems are you having? I know that if the TV is not on the same subnet as the cable boxes, it won't work.

View solution in original post

0 Likes
CRobGauth
Community Leader
Community Leader

Couple of comments:

1) FIOS App has been pulled from some Samsung devices due to a software issue.

2) You can only watch some channels (not all are on the Samsung APP).

3) What type of problems are you having? I know that if the TV is not on the same subnet as the cable boxes, it won't work.

0 Likes
tns2
Community Leader
Community Leader