Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get up to $500 when you bring your phone. Plus, get the incredible iPhone 13 Pro on us. Online only. With select 5G Unlimited plans. Ends 12.5. Buy now
end of navigation menu

SD channels now have black bars top and bottom....

Reply
bonibee
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎10-09-2011

SD channels now have black bars top and bottom....

Message 1 of 6
(4,151 Views)

and no matter what I try to set, they remain so.  I have tried so many changes to the settings as suggested by the FIOS tech support and nothing works.  I do not want to resort to using the # on the remote.  Never had to. An example is the OWN channel #161.  Always came in full screen.  Since the upgrade, it will not work.  There are several others in the 140-210 range that were always full screen.  I cannot seem to change them, short of switching to the HD channel.  And OWN is not in HD so there is nothing to change.  Any suggestions?  My STB is the 7216.

5 REPLIES 5
tns
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 1,759
Registered: ‎05-22-2010

Re: SD channels now have black bars top and bottom....

Message 2 of 6
(4,137 Views)

There are various version of this problem.

 

One the actual channel is sent/broadcast by the provider in this mode.  In that case there really is nothing Verizon can do.  You may be able to set your TV to zoom such pictures, lower picture quality but will then fill your screen.

 

Two the channel is no longer supplied in HD, but is converted to SD by Verizon. Often following guidelines from the channel provider.  In some case its Verizon fault, and other the recommendation of the provider. Best solution is to watch the HD version of the channel.

 

The channel is broadcast in 16x9 SD.  This would work better if the STB/DVR handled it better.  Switching off the SD override (and turning off native mode) can get the channel to correctly display in 16x9 mode (without loss of picture quality).  This, in my opinion, is a Verizon bug, that I hope they are aware of.

BDSou812
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎01-20-2010

Re: SD channels now have black bars top and bottom....

Message 3 of 6
(4,116 Views)

We just got 1.9 last week and noticed there are new options to control the black bars for SD channels.

Select options Menu/Settings/Video Settings/SD Override and you will have several options!Smiley Wink Hope this helps!!

bobk777
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-12-2010

Re: SD channels now have black bars top and bottom....

Message 4 of 6
(2,610 Views)

Can you please explain what "1.9" is?

 

tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: SD channels now have black bars top and bottom....

Message 5 of 6
(2,598 Views)

1.9 was a release of the STB "IMG"  (i.e. software) released several years ago.  I thing they are up to 1.9.7 with 1.9.8 about to rollout. 

 

THIS IS AN OLD THREAD, not that things have changed much in recent years about the SD channels with black bars.

ElizabethS
Moderator Emeritus Moderator Emeritus
Moderator Emeritus
Posts: 6,227
Registered: ‎04-29-2009

Re: SD channels now have black bars top and bottom....

Message 6 of 6
(2,544 Views)

As this thread is now over two years old, it will be locked in order to keep discussions current. If you have the same or a similar question/issue we invite you to start a new thread on the topic.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title