Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

set top box reboot at a specific time

Reply
mwjp
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-11-2020

set top box reboot at a specific time

Message 1 of 3
(1,100 Views)

For several months, STB reboots at 9:48:07 PM. Not every day, but probably 3-5 times per week. Disrupts recordings in progress as well as live watching. Verizon online support interaction was  completely worthless.  Rebooting of modem or box has no effect. Location is in greater Boston, no idea if it is in a service area or just random.Any ideas on why? Anybody else with this problem?

 

2 REPLIES 2
CRobGauth
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 8,008
Registered: ‎11-04-2008

Re: set top box reboot at a specific time

Message 2 of 3
(1,068 Views)

Does it only reboot if you are recording something?

What model STB do you have?


If a forum member gives an answer you like, give them the Kudos they deserve. If a member gives you the answer to your question, mark the answer as Accepted Solution so others can see the solution to the problem.
clem53
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 1,917
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: set top box reboot at a specific time

Message 3 of 3
(1,067 Views)

@mwjp wrote:

For several months, STB reboots at 9:48:07 PM. Not every day, but probably 3-5 times per week. Disrupts recordings in progress as well as live watching. Verizon online support interaction was  completely worthless.  Rebooting of modem or box has no effect. Location is in greater Boston, no idea if it is in a service area or just random.Any ideas on why? Anybody else with this problem?

 


Is it a mini? Is it a power reboot or a data reboot? I also have ATT-Uverse and my Uverse wireless box reboots almost every night at 2:00 am. From what I can figure out, its lease on the router expires frequently, and restores itself at 2:00 am. Sounds like something similar happening to you. Could be a bad router, or possibly bad coax cable if its hooked up with coax and it is a mini. If it's a VMS, again it has to get data from the router, so again that leads to a potential issue with the router or coax distribution.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title