Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Slow remotes for Quantum TV

Reply
FrankieFoot
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-10-2014

Re: Slow remotes for Quantum TV

Message 11 of 45
(1,674 Views)

How you know when you receive an update, check the "setting"?

 

ivmost
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-10-2014

Re: Slow remotes for Quantum TV

Message 12 of 45
(1,663 Views)

yes - I have the same lag tag as you described (and other very slow issues as well).  I will try unplugging my box and restarting. 

tns2
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 4,437
Registered: ‎12-16-2012

Re: Slow remotes for Quantum TV

Message 13 of 45
(1,659 Views)

@FrankieFoot wrote:

How you know when you receive an update, check the "setting"?

 



And their just was an update this morning, 9/11/14.

 

 

 

 

JimHough
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎04-20-2011

Re: Slow remotes for Quantum TV

Message 14 of 45
(1,619 Views)

I'm not sure I'm seeing any marked improvement in the lagginess of the remotes.  In addition to the slow starting playback (black screen of impatience), navigating with the remote is very frustrating.  Most of the time when you're trying to manage your recorded programs the buttons appear to do nothing, then sometimes you'll get all of your button hits at once as though they've been stored up. So obviously that means you're hitting the wrong (default) option. 

 

Was this part of the reason our upload speeds were changed?  Do all our remote commands have to go up to Verison's servers and back again?  I can't  believe that's how it works but maybe that's the only way the kitchen TV  box can talk to the master server in the living room?

 

Is anyone from Verizon tech support replied to this thread?  They're usually pretty good at reading these posts.

SinCara
Silver Contributor V
Silver Contributor V
Posts: 628
Registered: ‎06-06-2014

Re: Slow remotes for Quantum TV

Message 15 of 45
(1,607 Views)

@JimHough wrote:

I'm not sure I'm seeing any marked improvement in the lagginess of the remotes.  In addition to the slow starting playback (black screen of impatience), navigating with the remote is very frustrating.  Most of the time when you're trying to manage your recorded programs the buttons appear to do nothing, then sometimes you'll get all of your button hits at once as though they've been stored up. So obviously that means you're hitting the wrong (default) option. 

 

Was this part of the reason our upload speeds were changed?  Do all our remote commands have to go up to Verison's servers and back again?  I can't  believe that's how it works but maybe that's the only way the kitchen TV  box can talk to the master server in the living room?

 

Is anyone from Verizon tech support replied to this thread?  They're usually pretty good at reading these posts.


Tech support doesnt reply to these threads as they are peer to peer. If need be the mods will.

I see no lag on my remotes ever since the last update hit. It's actually more responsive now.

If rebooting doesnt help its possible you need a new box.

 

JimHough
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎04-20-2011

Re: Slow remotes for Quantum TV

Message 16 of 45
(1,600 Views)

Thanks SinCara, I  pulled the plug on my unit to see if that helps at all.  I do have the latest software and I guess certain aspects of the remote may seem a tad better but not great.  This is the same for  both my server box and the box in my kitchen.  At least it sounds like a problem Verizon is aware of and hopefully they are still working to make it better.

WOFM
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-25-2012

Re: Slow remotes for Quantum TV

Message 17 of 45
(1,581 Views)

I've seen a slight improvement but still experience delays at times, especially when you first turn on the box, or if you've been watching one channel for a while. I'll punch in 3 numbers and it seems it almost never goes to that channel correctly the first time. It's almost as if the box has to "wake up". I called to voice my displeasure, but the guy on the phone wanted to run a check on my boxes and i was not calling from home. Told him I have to believe it is a Quantum system issue, and not unique to my boxes, but he insisted he needed to "assess" the responsiveness of my boxes. I would gladly switch out the boxes if I thought that would resolve the issues, I just don't believe it would. Have not had a chance to call from home yet, but hope to do so soon

kurango
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-02-2014

Re: Slow remotes for Quantum TV

Message 18 of 45
(1,566 Views)

I haved the same problem, except my response times get longer and longer.

 

I thought I had fixed it by going to "Fix common DVR problems" which I believe is a reset. And yes it did fix it for about 2 days but then the response times got longer and longer and longer. When the waiting time reached 35 seconds after hitting the ok button to play back a recorded show, I reset the DVR again (about a week ago) and again it worked for a while, now I am up to about 20 seconds.

 

This is quite frustrating since it takes approximately 5 to 10 minutes to "Fix Common DVR Problems".

 

Where do I go to get this corrected once a for all?

 

TIA,kurango

bluezapfel
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎01-18-2012

Re: Slow remotes for Quantum TV

Message 19 of 45
(1,537 Views)

I too am having all the same problems, the updates seem to have made it worse. I have always had slow response times to remote commands, in the past week it now takes about 20 seconds for the DVR to start playback. Last nite all the remote boxes of the VMS100 stopped working & I had to go reboot the VMS100. This is extremely frustrating & I'm getting very upset I'm paying for this terrible product.

glenn12345
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-28-2013

Re: Slow remotes for Quantum TV

Message 20 of 45
(1,518 Views)

Why is this post marked as Solved. It's obvious that people are still experiencing problems with there Media servers. 

I am still having issues with:

  • lag time
  • programing issues (Season pass priority settings).
  • 15 sec lag time to recored a show from the Guide.
  • They did fix the search for show feature, but it lags also, 
  • 10 sec delay to play a recorded show.
  • When we press the rewind button it shoots back to the beginning of the show or jumps out of the show and goes to channel 1952 (Fios TV Tutorials and Features)
  • Allways loose the last minute of shows. have to change setting to record an extra min to see ending.
  • Non DVR Satalite boxes crach for no reason. Then goes through setup screen takes about 5 min.

Sorry this issue is not Solved!!!!!  The last DVR (Black Motorola (Not sure model number) was fantastic fast never had issues with it.

 

I am paying $215.00 for aggravation.  

 

There should not be a charge for beta testing, that seem to be what we are.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title