Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

TV screen states "no signal detected". Box or tv problem?

Reply
Gusty
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-28-2010

TV screen states "no signal detected". Box or tv problem?

Message 1 of 9
(92,135 Views)

Keep getting "no signal detected" when I turn on tv.  The only way to correct this is if I unplug everything and let reboot, but I don't want to go through this every time I turn the tv/box off.  I ran the on-line diagnostic and was told all boxes were good.  I also connect this box and hdmi cord to other tvs in the house and had no problem.  I tried all three hdmi ports on this tv with same results.  Is it my tv?  Did not have this problem with this tv when I had cable.  Tv is a panasonic lcd about a year old.  Thanks for any help you can give.

8 REPLIES 8
lasagna
Gold Contributor VII Gold Contributor VII
Gold Contributor VII
Posts: 2,002
Registered: ‎05-27-2010

Re: TV screen states "no signal detected". Box or tv problem?

Message 2 of 9
(92,049 Views)

It takes are few seconds for the HDMI signal to sync with the TV after you power on -- it's possible that the TV is trying to find a signal by scanning thru all it's possible inputs and not seeing one quickly enough and giving up.

 

Does your TV have an "input" select button on it's remote (or perhaps as an option under a menu button)?

 

After you turn the TV on and the box is obviously on -- try cycling thru the inputs until you come to the right one where the box is connected and let it on that input for a bit to see if the picture appears.

 

 

brachko
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-02-2011

Re: TV screen states "no signal detected". Box or tv problem?

Message 3 of 9
(90,520 Views)

I am having a similar issue.  I have a Hitachi 42HDX62A and when I turn the TV on I get the picture but "No Sync. Signal." comes across the picture.  The only way I can resolve the issue is to go to "Menu" then "Video on Demand" and then come back out.  It will remain off until the next time I turn the TV on and off.  But this is a pain the...   The only thing I have done recently was use HDMI over Component Cables and changed to a MRDVR box.  Any help?

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: TV screen states "no signal detected". Box or tv problem?

Message 4 of 9
(90,501 Views)

It sounds like an HDMI sync or handshake issue. When I first turn on my TVs it does the same thing for a few seconds and then the picture comes up. Check to see if your TV manufacture has any firmware updates for the TV. If the HDMI is not connected straight to the TV, but through another device, that could also create issues.

PJL
Gold Contributor V
Gold Contributor V
Posts: 2,069
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: TV screen states "no signal detected". Box or tv problem?

Message 5 of 9
(90,463 Views)

To answer your question in the thread title:  Since the STB and cable work with other TVs, then it must be the TV in question that is the problem -- I think you anwered your own question by the sypmtoms your described:  "I also connect this box and hdmi cord to other tvs in the house and had no problem."

kellyday6
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-31-2011

Re: TV screen states "no signal detected". Box or tv problem?

Message 6 of 9
(88,344 Views)

I have the same problem with my new Sharp 42" LCD TV.

 

The picture came up at first, so I think it may be a firmware issue as well.

 

 

prisaz
Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,820
Registered: ‎08-23-2008

Re: TV screen states "no signal detected". Box or tv problem?

Message 7 of 9
(88,330 Views)

Use component cables as a work around if all else fails. You will get the same quality picture. 1080i, 720p, etc. You will just have more cables to the TV.

Sweettee1
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-18-2018

Re: TV screen states "no signal detected". Box or tv problem?

Message 8 of 9
(20,937 Views)

@Gusty wrote:

Keep getting "no signal detected" when I turn on tv.  The only way to correct this is if I unplug everything and let reboot, but I don't want to go through this every time I turn the tv/box off.  I ran the on-line diagnostic and was told all boxes were good.  I also connect this box and hdmi cord to other tvs in the house and had no problem.  I tried all three hdmi ports on this tv with same results.  Is it my tv?  Did not have this problem with this tv when I had cable.  Tv is a panasonic lcd about a year old.  Thanks for any help you can give.


 

LawrenceC
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 11,673
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

Re: TV screen states "no signal detected". Box or tv problem?

Message 9 of 9
(20,933 Views)

As this thread is now over two years old, it will be locked in order to keep discussions current. If you have the same or a similar question/issue we invite you to start a new thread on the topic.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title