Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Very slow channel change - intermittant

SOLVED
Reply
blueribb
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎07-30-2011

Re: Very slow channel change - intermittant

Message 251 of 314
(5,033 Views)

According to another forum, the update is to the "Platform Version" and not the other numbers. The Platform Version is only visable in the hidden service menu.

 

To access this menu:

 

1 - Turn the TV & FIOS box on

2 - On the box itself, press: Pwr, OK, OK quickly - you should now have a white service menu screen

3 - Press the arrow down button to D08 and press OK

4 - Version Number 25.38 Apr 07, 2012 (old) > Version Number 25.39 Oct 22, 2012 (new)

5 - Press Pwr to exit this hidden menu

 

Some people have claimed to have received this new version and they say the channel change issue is fixed. This update is released according to your VHO (location).

 

The above info was taken from the DSLReports FIOS TV forum

Justin
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 5,173
Registered: ‎08-05-2008

Re: Very slow channel change - intermittant

Message 252 of 314
(5,011 Views)

I will repeat what I have said here previously: I have the fix, I have had it for over a month now, and yes, at least for me, it has fixed the problem.

 

And yes, the fix is apparently being distributed to one or a few VHOs at a time. Multiple VHOs have already received the fix, others will get it over time, hopefully quickly, because the problem is a real annoyance, as we all know.

 

It really is pointless to keep posting here complaining about the problem or asking about a solution, Verizon knows there is a problem, they have developed a fix, and it is being distributed. You will get it automatically, there is no need for anybody to do anything (other than I guess to sit back and wait, complaining here or calling tech support will not speed the process up).

 

__________________________________
Justin
FiOS TV, 25/25 Internet, and Digital Voice user
QIP7232, QIP7100-P2, IMG 1.9.1
Keller, TX 76248

Rudy81
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-05-2012

Re: Very slow channel change - intermittant

Message 253 of 314
(5,006 Views)

I will add that I have not noticed the problem in about three or four weeks in any of our three boxes.  I am also in North Texas and they seem to have updated our boxes. So, VZ is apperently working on the issue.  I know how frustrating this has been, but to their credit, at least they are working on the problem.

 

BTW, I finally figured out how to get into my hidden menu.  In my box, turned on the tv and box.  Turned off the box with my remote and then hit ok, ok to get the white menu.

 

D8 indicated platform version 25.39, Oct 22 2012.

michlin
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-09-2011

Re: Very slow channel change - intermittant

Message 254 of 314
(4,989 Views)

Still no fix!!! Verizon doesn't seem to give a **bleep**. The 1.9.1 image has not been updated. Worse TV service imagineable. This started with the rollout of version 1.9.1 during this past summer. I'm not holding my breathe for a fix, but I am aggravated as hell. When my contract iss up I will dump Verizon faster than a New York minute.

rbperrie
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-05-2012

Re: Very slow channel change - intermittant

Message 255 of 314
(4,988 Views)

Checked and here in west Philly we're still 25.38 yet there has been a big improvement over the past month with the issue only being on start up. Do hope 25.39 will finally make this issue go away for good.

michlin
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-09-2011

Re: Very slow channel change - intermittant

Message 256 of 314
(4,985 Views)

Ok, so it isn't the 1.9.1 image version. The problem persists. **bleep**!

rbperrie
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-05-2012

Re: Very slow channel change - intermittant

Message 257 of 314
(4,978 Views)

michlin, I was were you are about a month ago. I was spitting nails at VZ as all I got was run around after run around and with each DVR change losing all my recording on my external drive. Trust me the only reason I'm still with VZ is my wife doesn't want to lose all the recordings yet a third time and have to learn a new channel lineup. I'm still working on her so there's till hope. VZ customer service has been pitiful through the whole process.

VZ needs to wise up and understand with internet movies VOD is not the draw it used to be so customer service is important to keeping customers. We'll see......I guess I'm just an optimist.

danthesasman
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-09-2012

Re: Very slow channel change - intermittant

Message 258 of 314
(4,906 Views)

The only thing slower than changing channels is getting this problem fixed. 

 

Come on Verizon, what about customer service? Have you ever heard of it????

 

hankl
Bronze Contributor I
Bronze Contributor I
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎01-01-2011

Re: Very slow channel change - intermittant

Message 259 of 314
(4,295 Views)

You are so WRONG. It's great that Verizon knows about the problem but many of us have had the problem for over a month and it's NOT BEING fixed.

 

Why would I be happy waiting weeks for something to be resolved. Now I try to plan ahead to change channels but waiting from 20 - 40 seconds for a channel change is crazy.

 

I just want it fixed.

BrianC
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎08-22-2009

Re: Very slow channel change - intermittant

Message 260 of 314
(4,292 Views)

It appears they've updated VH02 (Florida).  I haven't had the problem for several weeks now.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title