Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Wide size mode

SOLVED
Reply
Steven2
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-02-2022

Wide size mode

Message 1 of 5
(1,431 Views)

The picture displays the text "Wide size 1" over the picture even though it's set for 1080i 16:9 resolution.  How did it get there, where was it selected in the menu (if by accident) and how do I cancel it?  I can't seem to find any 'wide size' configuration settings using the Fios TV Remote - menu settings selections

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
clem53
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 2,042
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Wide size mode

Message 4 of 5
(1,242 Views)

@Steven2 wrote:

Apparently there are two ways to access Widgets. One is clearly marked "Widgets" on the upper part of the Fios Remote, and the other is one of the small colored buttons at the bottom of the remote, which isn't named at all.  It seems that the lower button was used, which caused this "wide size 1" text to be displayed on screen.  Anyway, the person that caused it to appear used the same button again and the text disappeared.   Go figure!     Maybe Tech Services at Verizon know the obscure functionality of all those unmarked buttons.


I thought you had Fios One boxes, not 1100 series, sorry for the confusion. Those buttons do not exist on the 4100 series remotes. All I can tell you is the A button brings up the Widgets, the B button is used to bring up the Diagnostics menu. There is also a size button at the bottom right marked with #. Good that you accidentally found the solution!

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
clem53
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 2,042
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Wide size mode

Message 2 of 5
(1,382 Views)

@Steven2 wrote:

The picture displays the text "Wide size 1" over the picture even though it's set for 1080i 16:9 resolution.  How did it get there, where was it selected in the menu (if by accident) and how do I cancel it?  I can't seem to find any 'wide size' configuration settings using the Fios TV Remote - menu settings selections


Sounds like something in your TVs menu, not the Fios menu. Check the TV, maybe try unplugging it from the wall for 30 seconds then plugging it back in. Fios boxes don't have a choice of aspect ratios like that in their menus.

Steven2
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-02-2022

Re: Wide size mode

Message 3 of 5
(1,259 Views)

Apparently there are two ways to access Widgets. One is clearly marked "Widgets" on the upper part of the Fios Remote, and the other is one of the small colored buttons at the bottom of the remote, which isn't named at all.  It seems that the lower button was used, which caused this "wide size 1" text to be displayed on screen.  Anyway, the person that caused it to appear used the same button again and the text disappeared.   Go figure!     Maybe Tech Services at Verizon know the obscure functionality of all those unmarked buttons.

clem53
MVP MVP
MVP
Posts: 2,042
Registered: ‎12-06-2010

Re: Wide size mode

Message 4 of 5
(1,243 Views)

@Steven2 wrote:

Apparently there are two ways to access Widgets. One is clearly marked "Widgets" on the upper part of the Fios Remote, and the other is one of the small colored buttons at the bottom of the remote, which isn't named at all.  It seems that the lower button was used, which caused this "wide size 1" text to be displayed on screen.  Anyway, the person that caused it to appear used the same button again and the text disappeared.   Go figure!     Maybe Tech Services at Verizon know the obscure functionality of all those unmarked buttons.


I thought you had Fios One boxes, not 1100 series, sorry for the confusion. Those buttons do not exist on the 4100 series remotes. All I can tell you is the A button brings up the Widgets, the B button is used to bring up the Diagnostics menu. There is also a size button at the bottom right marked with #. Good that you accidentally found the solution!

LawrenceC
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 12,043
Registered: ‎03-18-2013

Re: Wide size mode

Message 5 of 5
(990 Views)

I would like to thank everyone for taking the time to post your comments and opinions related to this topic. This topic has been thoroughly discussed and will now be closed. Please feel free to open a new thread for further discussion. Thank you.

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title