Refund via Prepaid Mastercard
ersatz2
Enthusiast - Level 1

I discontinued my service and am expecting a refund of $273.85. I received an email saying that I'll be receiving the refund in the form of a prepaid Mastercard. 

I think this is a terrible method of refunding. I would have very much preferred that the credit card account that I've been using to pay my monthly bill [for several years] would have been credited this amount instead. It forces the user to track the balance on the account, and I suspect that Verizon saves money if the entire balance of the card is not used.

Re: Refund via Prepaid Mastercard
CRobGauth
Community Leader
Community Leader

If you closed your account they may not have easy access to the credit card info you have used.

And a prepaid card is probably easier than cutting a check.

Good thing is that I have found that you can use these cards until they run out.

Most places will take the card.  If you have less than the full amount on your card, they clear the card. Then you can use another form of payment to complete the purchase.

Grocery stores are good about doing it for sure.

0 Likes
ichaya
Enthusiast - Level 1

I am currently experiencing the same thing.  I cancelled service back on the first week of September.  Today is October 28, and I still didn't get the refund.

After 3 chat sessions, and a phone call lasting over 20 minutes I got told they sent me a "wirecard" with the refund on it.

Look. I PAID you in currency!  

I don't think you would accept giftcards as a form of payment from me.  Why would you expect me to want that as a form of payment from you?

I think they do this intentionally just to make it more difficult to get your money back!

You could have done a e-deposit, or printed me a check so that i could deposit the money in my bank and paid a different bill.

Instead I'm going to have to drag this stupid card around, and keep track of the balance until I use it all.