Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Dsl 7.1mbps only recevies 6.3 mbps is this correct base on my info?

Reply
vvilliamm
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-15-2009

Dsl 7.1mbps only recevies 6.3 mbps is this correct base on my info?

Message 1 of 3
(5,249 Views)

I recently Upgraded my Verizon Dsl 3.0mbps to 7.1mbps and only receives 6.3mbps does any one know what i could do to fix it? im loosing around 1.0mbps here =/ thats like 20 dollars of how much they charge on that plan 0.0. monitored all my speeds download everything only get max download 766kb/s (6.3mbps) i called the tech they said i have good numbers 0.0 about all they can say when i use to have the 3.0mbps i would receive 364 kb/s thats 3.0mbps correct?
according to my router it shows


DSL Speed (Kbits/Sec) 7645 863 < higher than7.1mbps but ionly get around6.3mbps

 

here is my current transtats
Transceiver Statistics
Transceiver Revision A2pB020b3.d19d
Vendor ID Code 4D54
Line Mode ADSL_2plus
Data Path FAST

Transceiver Information Down Stream Path Up Stream Path
DSL Speed (Kbits/Sec) 7645 863
Margin (dB) 9.7 15.8
Line Attenuation (dB) 35.0 16.9
Transmit Power (dBm) 14.6 12.4
 

:::.. Download Stats ..:::
Download Connection is:: 6254 Kbps about 6.3 Mbps (tested with 6152 kB)
Download Speed is:: 763 kB/s
Tested From:: »testmy.net/ (Main)
Test Time:: 2009/03/11 - 5:45am
Bottom Line:: 109X faster than 56K 1MB Download in 1.34 sec
Tested from a 6152 kB file and took 8.058 seconds to complete
Download Diagnosis:: Looks Great : 7.66 % faster than the average for host (verizon.net)
D-Validation Link:: »testmy.net/stats/id-QPGIS47ET
User Agent:: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.0.7) Gecko/2009021910 Firefox/3.0.1;MEGAUPLOAD 1.0 [!]

2 REPLIES 2
mattheww50
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 116
Registered: ‎10-24-2008

Re: Dsl 7.1mbps only recevies 6.3 mbps is this correct base on my info?

Message 2 of 3
(5,235 Views)

Thre is some unavoidable latenecy that is added by the router, network,  and your computer's software, and the computer on the other end of the test.

 

The speed quoted by Verizon is the maximum underlying tranport rate. It also assumes there is no other network traffic, and your  computer (and theirs) is doing nothing else. In other words the 7.1mbs is only achievable under absolutely ideal conditions. What you see when you use a speed test is sensitive to what else is going on in you computer, the computer at the other end, the router, and the network connection in between. All of these things will degrage the usable speed.

 

 

 

To partially compensate for this, Verizon usually provisions the router at a somewhat higher rate than the service you have order, for example the entry level package at 768/128 was typically provisioned at about 860/160.

 

The faster you make the connection, the bigger impact even small latencies have on overall performance.

 

 

If you want to see higher speeds, try a different speed test at 2:30AM local time, and choose a speed test that bounces off  a nearby server. The bottom line is the underlying transport rate is at least 7.1 mbps, you are getting what Verizon offered.

Message Edited by mattheww50 on 03-15-2009 02:26 PM
Message Edited by mattheww50 on 03-15-2009 02:28 PM
vvilliamm
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-15-2009

Re: Dsl 7.1mbps only recevies 6.3 mbps is this correct base on my info?

Message 3 of 3
(5,230 Views)
hmm i guess 6.3mbps is the maximum i could recevie unless i ask verizon to change the copper pair which sounds unlikely they will since it sounds like they would need to pluck out a massive line and re wire it lol yea so far my consistant speeds of downloading etc only reaches up to 766 never above it.
How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title