Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Is my service being throttled?

Reply
grm3
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-19-2013

Is my service being throttled?

Message 1 of 26
(2,962 Views)

Less than a year ago I was upgraded tothe 3 Mbps DSL plan, and I consistently reached speeds of 2.6-2.9 Mbps.  Lately, I can't seem to get higher than 1.3 Mbps on any device I try testing with (desktop, laptop, smartphone).  Nothing has changed on my end, so is it safe to assume this is simply the result of throttling, and there's nothing I can do?

25 REPLIES 25
hitmehhh
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎08-07-2009

Re: Is my service being throttled?

Message 2 of 26
(2,950 Views)

I think you are being throttled. I am paying for enhanced 3-7 mpbs I was consistently getting 6. Then about 5 weeks ago ,when nothing changed, can't get any better than 4.5

mikewiz1962
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎01-14-2011

Re: Is my service being throttled?

Message 3 of 26
(2,944 Views)
I think a lot of us are getting throttled down. Same issue except I went from 3 down to 1.5 on a good day. Usually, 1 to 1.25. I am moving to Clear 4g and will be up and running next Monday as equipment was shipped today. I will post my experience with them here.
grm3
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-19-2013

Re: Is my service being throttled?

Message 4 of 26
(2,935 Views)

mikewiz1962,

I saw from your other post, you are located on southern NJ. Whereabout?  I'm having my issues in Burlington County NJ.

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,172
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Is my service being throttled?

Message 5 of 26
(2,931 Views)

To OP

 

Step one: Visit http://www.giganews.com/line_info.html and post up the Traceroute the page shows, if you wish. Be aware that your non-bogan public IP Address will show up.  It might shown up as the final hop (bottom-most line of the trace)  might contain a hop with your IP address in it. Either remove that line or show only the first two octets. What I'm looking for is a line that mentions "ERX" in it's name towards the end. If for some reason the trace does not complete (two lines full of Stars), keep the trace route intact.

For example this what I see

 



    news.giganews.com

    traceroute to 71.242.*.* (71.242.*.*), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
    1 gw1-g-vlan201.dca.giganews.com (216.196.98.4) 13 ms 13 ms 13 ms
    2 ash-bb1-link.telia.net (213.248.70.241) 39 ms 7 ms 7 ms
    3 TenGigE0-2-0-0.GW1.IAD8.ALTER.NET (63.125.125.41) 4 ms 4 ms GigabitEthernet2-0-0.GW8.IAD8.ALTER.NET (63.65.76.189) 4 ms
    4 so-7-1-0-0.PHIL-CORE-RTR1.verizon-gni.net (130.81.20.137) 6 ms 6 ms 6 ms
    5 P3-0-0.PHIL-DSL-RTR11.verizon-gni.net (130.81.13.170) 6 ms 6 ms 6 ms
    6 static-71-242-*-*.phlapa.east.verizon.net (71.242.*.*) 32 ms 32 ms 33 ms







Step two: Can you provide the Transceiver Statistics from your modem?

#3 If you don't know how to get that info:

a) What is the brand and model of your modem?

b) If you have a RJ-45 WAN port router connected to it: What is the brand and model of the RJ-45 WAN port router?

#4 If you have a RJ-45 WAN port router connected to the modem, even if you know how to get the Transceiver Statistics from the modem: What is the brand and model of the RJ-45 WAN port router?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

MysteryB
Nickel Contributor
Nickel Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎06-25-2013

Re: Is my service being throttled?

Message 6 of 26
(2,910 Views)

You are probably being "optimized." 

mikewiz1962
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎01-14-2011

Re: Is my service being throttled?

Message 7 of 26
(2,843 Views)

I am located in Camden County in Gloucester TWP. The service is terrible. My wife could not even use Netflix.

 

So think about it, I am paying for Netflix and I am paying for lousy Internet service and can't use either. As I said in an earlier post, I am moving to Clear and the equipment should be here on Monday. I will post the results.

 

In the past month, my DSL connection has gone down by 50%. They don't seem to care as Verizon gets my money..or at least they did!

 

 

sad_customer
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-20-2013

Re: Is my service being throttled?

Message 8 of 26
(2,831 Views)

I live in Northern Virginia and agree the service is being throttled.   I consistently was able to achieve 2.5-2.8 in a bandwidth test until June 2013.  Now I'm running at 1.5-1.8.   Bait and switch.

grm3
Copper Contributor
Copper Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-19-2013

Re: Is my service being throttled?

Message 9 of 26
(2,763 Views)

I have an old Westell 2100 modem, so I don't know if I can get the transceiver stats.

dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,172
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Is my service being throttled?

Message 10 of 26
(2,697 Views)

@grm3 wrote:

I have an old Westell 2100 modem, so I don't know if I can get the transceiver stats.


Visit http://192.168.1.1/ for me and do the following:

a) If you see a Blue and White Westell page, mouse over Troubleshooting, go to DSL, and choose Transceiver Statistics. Copy and paste the information on that page.

b) If using the Red and Black Firmware: Go to System Monitoring > Advanced Monitors > Transceiver Statistics. Copy and paste the information on that page.

c) Try visiting http://192.168.1.1/transtat.htm which is a direct link to the Stats on older modems.

d) If you need a Username and Password, try the following:

admin/password

admin/password1

admin/admin

admin/admin1

admin/Serial Number.

By ]Serial Number, I don't mean type in the words Serial Number. I mean find and type in the serial number found on the bottom of this router.

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title