Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
end of navigation menu

Westell 6110 - No web page

Reply
BobM
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-24-2009

Westell 6110 - No web page

Message 1 of 12
(12,635 Views)
I tried http://192.168.1.1 and I get no connection. It says "web page not found." I've tried it with both an connection via Ethernet and via USB and neither will let me get to the configuration data. I desperately need to get there as one of the Verizon techs had me reset the modem and now I can no longer use it with a router. Since I have a multiple computers and an IP phone, this is completely not acceptable.
11 REPLIES 11
dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,168
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Westell 6110 - No web page

Message 2 of 12
(12,607 Views)
#1 Find the Default Gateway on your computer.

This means, if you are Windows XP.....

Go to Start -> Run.

Type in cmd and press enter.

In the new window, called the command prompt, type in ipconfig /all and press enter.

.. #2 and then go to the default gateway with your web browser.

Does that work?

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

RuthieW
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-20-2009

Re: Westell 6110 - No web page

Message 3 of 12
(12,600 Views)
I couldn't get the page to load using IE 7.  It loads right away using FireFox browser.  Incompatability with IE 7, I guess.  If nothing else works, it's worth a try.  Good Luck
BobM
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-24-2009

Re: Westell 6110 - No web page

Message 4 of 12
(12,596 Views)
I tried the default gateway from ipconfig /all in both IE7 and Foxfire with out any success.
BobM
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-24-2009

Re: Westell 6110 - No web page

Message 5 of 12
(12,595 Views)
I'd already tried both IE7 and Foxfire with 192.169.1.1 with no success.
MagicMan
Bronze Contributor II
Bronze Contributor II
Posts: 208
Registered: ‎08-10-2008

Re: Westell 6110 - No web page

Message 6 of 12
(12,589 Views)

I thought the 6110 is a modem.  So that would mean that you have the modem, talking to the router, talking to the PC.  Resetting the modem would have no bearing on the PC talking to the router.  It might muck up your conversations with the internet, but it sounds like you are trying to get into the router with a 192.168.1.1 ip address.

 

 What is your PC's IP address?  The router would be xxx.xxx.xxx.1   Where xxx are the first three triplets of your PC ip address.  Is it possible your router has a new local lan ip address?

 

to find out, get your pc ip address, start/run/cmd/ipconfig 

BobM
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-24-2009

Re: Westell 6110 - No web page

Message 7 of 12
(12,578 Views)
It doesn't matter whether I'm connected directly to the modem via Ethernet or USB or connected via the router, I still get nothing from http://192.168.1.1 except "Page not found."
dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,168
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Westell 6110 - No web page

Message 8 of 12
(12,573 Views)

@BobM wrote:
I'd already tried both IE7 and Foxfire with 192.169.1.1 with no success




Very strange.

#1 Are you sure that you reset the Wesell 6110 correctly?

For most routers, this means..

a) Hold the reset button while you turn off the power to the router.

b) While still holding the reset button, turn in the power to the router.

#2 Do have any other router? If so, which one do you have?



[EDIT] When I went to http://www.westell.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=202&arcsection=support

Clicked on Documentation, and then I did read it.

-

Maybe that device is not a router.
Message Edited by dslr595148 on 04-25-2009 02:24 PM

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

BobM
Contributor
Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-24-2009

Re: Westell 6110 - No web page

Message 9 of 12
(12,561 Views)
Again, I repeat that I can't access the 6110 with or without the router between it and me. It will only connect my computer to the internet if i directly connect it to the computer. With the router in between I get NO internet connection either.
dslr595148
Platinum Contributor III Platinum Contributor III
Platinum Contributor III
Posts: 6,168
Registered: ‎09-24-2008

Re: Westell 6110 - No web page

Message 10 of 12
(12,559 Views)

@BobM wrote:
Again, I repeat that I can't access the 6110 with or without the router between it and me. It will only connect my computer to the internet if i directly connect it to the computer. With the router in between I get NO internet connection either.
Ok, When directly connected to the modem. #1 Check your IP Address, Subnet Mask, Default Gateway and DNS Settings. This means if you are on Windows.. Go to start -> run. Type in cmd and press enter. Then in the new window type in ipconfig /all and press enter. #2 Compare the IP Address(es) on your computer to the external IP Address as shown at http://www.portforward.com/english/routers/port_forwarding/routerindex.htm -- Is that external IP on your computer? Note: Your computer may have more than one NIC. Please be sure to check all of the NICs listed...

If you are the original poster (OP) and your issue is solved, please remember to click the "Solution?" button so that others can more easily find it. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the "Kudos" button.


 

How-To Videos
 
The following videos were produced by users like you!
   
Videos are subject to the Verizon Fios Community Terms of Service and User Guidelines and contains content that is not created by Verizon.
Have a spare Fios-G1100?Learn how to bridge it into your network
Get Started


Covid19

Browse Categories
Categories:
Posts

Verizon Troubleshooters
Unable to find your answer here? Try searching Verizon Troubleshooters for more options.
Modal Dialogue Title